Research Guides: Recreation Management and Policy: Find Articles

For More Help

Ask a Librarian

Visit, email, chat, or schedule a consultation appointment with a subject librarian

Searching Tips

This 2-page handout describes some search techniques and how to connect to full text articles after doing a database search.

Tips for Successful Online Searching

Boolean Searching

Build more effective searches by learning about "Boolean operators" when connecting your search terms.

Google Search

Tips:

At Scholar home page, under Settings

set Library Links to Univ of New Hampshire - makes it easier to link to online full text at UNH
set Bibliography Manager to show links to import citations to Zotero

Recommended Key Databases

Search these indexes for journal, magazine or newspapers articles, book reviews, conference proceedings, dissertations, etc.

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. It is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center : EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
The premier database for education, providing access to more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text ERIC documents dating back to 1966.
SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of sports including physical fitness, physical education, sports medicine, training, coaching, and recreation. Publication date coverage: 1975 to present.

Additional Databases to Consider

RT Wise Owls

Depending on your specific topic, one of these specialized databases may be helpful. For more online resources, check out the complete Database List.

Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Dates of coverage: 1952-current
Hospitality & Tourism Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database covering industry news and scholarly research relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. Publication coverage from 1965 to present
This comprehensive database combines the records of three renowned collections: Cornell University's former Hospitality database, Articles in Hospitality and Tourism (AHT), formerly co-produced by the Universities of Surrey and Oxford Brookes, and the Lodging, Restaurant & Tourism Index (LRTI), formerly produced by Purdue University.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos touching on all disciplines.

Business Source Ultimate
Offers comprehensive full-text coverage plus indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals.

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive nursing and allied health research database covering nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and more. Dates of coverage: 1937-current
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Facilitates research-level interdisciplinary search. Use the Basic Search to locate articles in high-impact scholarly journals in science, social science, arts, and humanities. Use the unique Cited Reference search for articles that cite an article you already know of, so you can track citations forward in time.

Getting Articles

Click on the Check for Full Text icon in the database record to see how to get a copy of the article: whether online, in print or from another library.

This 2-minute video provides a brief demonstration.

If the UNH Library doesn't have the article you want, request it through Interlibrary Loan.

Peer Review?

Check:

the database record for the article, which sometimes indicates whether a journal uses peer review
the journal website, especially under About Us or Information for Authors (Example)

Ulrichsweb This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic and access information for thosands of serials. Entries provide ISSN, publisher, language, subject, abstracting & indexing coverage, full-text database coverage, tables of contents, and reviews written by librarians.

Note: Not everything in a journal is peer reviewed; letters to the editor, book reviews, news items, and other short works without listed references are typically not peer reviewed the way more substantive articles are.

Follow Citations

Check references in relevant articles you find.

Check "Times CIted" links, if available, in databases such as PsycINFO and Sociological Abstracts to identify some newer articles citing the article in the database record. This may lead to related relevant articles.

Use Web of Science to follow citations from published articles to identify older and newer related articles across many disciplinary fields in the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities.