Research Guides: Communication Sciences and Disorders: Find Articles

For More Help

Ask a Librarian

Visit, email, chat, or schedule a consultation appointment with a subject librarian

Searching Tips

This 2-page handout describes some search techniques and how to connect to full text articles after doing a database search.

Tips for Successful Online Searching

Boolean Searching

Build more effective searches by learning about "Boolean operators" when connecting your search terms.

Recommended Key Databases

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Provides access to articles in medical research journals and citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books; subject coverage includes medicine, nursing, pharmacy, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and health care.

Search these indexes for journal, magazine or newspapers articles, book reviews, conference proceedings, dissertations, etc.

MEDLINE
Journal citations and abstracts for medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the healthcare system. Publication date coverage: 1966 to present.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations. Dates of coverage: 1973-current
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines. Publication date coverage: 1887 to present.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos touching on all disciplines.

Additional Databases to Consider

Depending on your specific topic, population of interest, approach, etc., consider one of the following specialized databases. For more online resources, check out the complete Database List.

Dissertation & Theses A&I (ProQuest)
Includes citations back to 1861, abstracts back to 1980 and 24-page previews for all dissertations after 1997. Also includes the full-text of all UNH dissertations from 1997 onward, as well as full-text of all UNH Masters Theses from 2006 onward.
DynaMed Plus
An evidence-based point-of-care tool ideal for clinical settings. It contains concise summaries and detailed recommendations based on the most current evidence, as well as drug content, medication management, and IV compatibility information from Micromedex Standard Drug Information.

UpToDate This link opens in a new window
An evidence-based knowledge system with content written and edited by a global community of physicians, world-renowned experts in their specialties. Includes clinical topics across many specialties, including graded treatment recommendations. Authors follow a rigorous editorial process, continually reviewing the content to ensure it is of the highest quality and based on the latest evidence. Also includes medical calculators and a drug and drug interaction database.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Dates of coverage: 1952-current
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center : EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
The premier database for education, providing access to more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text ERIC documents dating back to 1966.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive nursing and allied health research database covering nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and more. Dates of coverage: 1937-current
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Facilitates research-level interdisciplinary search. Use the Basic Search to locate articles in high-impact scholarly journals in science, social science, arts, and humanities. Use the unique Cited Reference search for articles that cite an article you already know of, so you can track citations forward in time.

Google Scholar

A useful complement but don't depend on just Google Scholar.

Getting Articles

Click on the Check for Full Text icon in the database record to see how to get a copy of the article: whether online, in print or from another library.

This 2-minute video provides a brief demonstration.

If the UNH Library doesn't have the article you want, request it through Interlibrary Loan.

Peer Review?

Check:

the database record for the article, which sometimes indicates whether a journal uses peer review
the journal website, especially under About Us or Information for Authors (Example)

Ulrichsweb This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic and access information for thosands of serials. Entries provide ISSN, publisher, language, subject, abstracting & indexing coverage, full-text database coverage, tables of contents, and reviews written by librarians.

Note: Not everything in a journal is peer reviewed; letters to the editor, book reviews, news items, and other short works without listed references are typically not peer reviewed the way more substantive articles are.

Follow Citations

Check references in relevant articles you find.

Check "Times CIted" links, if available, in databases such as PsycINFO and Sociological Abstracts to identify some newer articles citing the article in the database record. This may lead to related relevant articles.

Use Web of Science to follow citations from published articles to identify older and newer related articles across many disciplinary fields in the Sciences, Social Sciences, and Arts & Humanities.

Key Journals

Browse Tables of Contents from selected important journals in communication sciences and disorders.