Skip to main content

ANTH 750 - Islam and Gender: Gendered Lives of Women and Men in Muslim Communities (UNH Durham): Find Articles

Information on library resources and services to help you with assignments for ANTH 750.

For More Help

Searching Tips

This 2-page handout describes some search techniques and how to connect to full text articles after doing a database search.

 

Boolean Searching

Build more effective searches by learning about "Boolean operators" when connecting your search terms.


Recommended Key Databases

Search these indexes for journal, magazine or newspapers articles, book reviews, conference proceedings, dissertations, etc.

Additional Databases to Consider

Depending on your specific topic, population of interest, approach, etc., consider one of the following specialized databases. For even more optons, check out the complete Database list or talk with a librarian.

Discovery Tool

The Discovery Service is a combined search option through which you can search for articles on your topic across more than 60 databases as well as for books, videos, etc. held in the UNH Library.

Among the databases you can search simultaneously are Academic Search Complete, Historical Abstracts, Anthropological Literature, Family Studies Abstracts, JSTOR, and Women's Studies International.

The Discovery Service search box can be found under the  "Articles" tab on the library homepage.

Getting Articles

Click on the Check for Full Text icon in the database record to see how to get a copy of the article: whether online, in print or from another library.

This 2-minute video provides a brief demonstration.

If the UNH Library doesn't have the article you want, request it through Interlibrary Loan.

More About Journals

See Scholarly v. Popular for more information about

  • scholarly and non-scholarly journals
  • ways to check whether a journal has peer-reviewed articles