Research Guides: UMNA 005- Program for ESOL Students (UNH Manchester): Art Project

Group Activity

Together we will research Frida Kahlo and her self-portrait.

Visit the suggested websites to learn more about the artist and painting.

Start with the following websites:

Use a dictionary to look up definitions for unfamiliar words

Learn information about the artist and her portrait. Add what you have learned to our shared worksheet.

Worksheet Example"

Art History Resources on the Web
A comprehensive collection of sites covering world art from prehistoric times to the present; includes links to online image archives.
Art Source
A list of online art resources compiled by an art librarian.
The Art Story
The history of visual art.
Google Arts and Culture
Voice of the Shuttle: Art and Art History Page
A mega-site with links to art resources from around the Web, including online journals, academic departments, and sites specific to artists.

Britannica Online Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, the Britannica Book of the Year, and an Internet directory that includes more than 130,000 links to Web sites selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors.
Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window
See Oxford Art Online for Grove content

Web Museum
An online encyclopedia of art: provides biographies of artists, descriptions of artistic movements, and images of works of art.

Currier Museum: New Information About Old Friends
Started in 2012, this project has made existing and newly gathered information available online for the first time.
Currier Museum of Art - Manchester, NH
Museum of Fine Arts - Boston, MA
UNHM students, faculty and staff may stop by the Library to obtain an MFA museum pass for $5 general admission and $8 special exhibit admission.
Search Currier Collection
UNH Museum of Art