Research Guides: Health Management & Policy: Reference Sources

Why Use?

Good places to gather background information on a topic or get ideas when choosing a topic.

Background information:

definitions
specific factual information such as dates
overviews or summaries of topics
recommendations for additional sources

Types of reference sources

specialized encyclopedias
dictionaries
directories
statistical compilations
handbooks
bibliographies

For More Help

Ask a Librarian

Visit, email, chat, or schedule a consultation appointment with a subject librarian

Selected Online Reference Sources

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Each weekly issues offers a balanced, in-depth analysis of a contemporary topic by a veteran journalist, pro and con arguments by experts, a chronology, and annotated bibliographies to guide additional research. Provides a good overview of an issue.
Morningstar Investment Research Center This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive stock database that includes financial data on companies traded on the New York Stock Exchange, NASDAQ, and the American Stock Exchange; in-depth research reports on companies; data on mutual, closed-end, and exchange-traded funds; analysts' reports on funds; exclusive investment tools and engaging educational features, including interactive training on basic and advanced stock, fund, and portfolio techniques.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Includes Industry Research Reports that provide key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, major industry participants; Industry Risk Rating Reports that determine how much risk an industry will face over the next 18 months by assessing the operating conditions for companies in the industry; Global Industry Reports that assess industry performance in key regions like Europe, the Middle East, Africa; and: Business Environment Reports that list key factors outside the control of an organization that determine the performance of the industry.
Mergent First Research This link opens in a new window
Provides industry profiles covering over 1,000 industry segments, containing critical analysis, statistics, and forecasts.
MarketLine Advantage This link opens in a new window
Provides access to resources covering company, country, industry, and product intelligence as well as business strategies and news and opinion.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
An integration of various databases containing company information and documents. Moody's Industrial Manual and the EDGAR filings are included in this database along with Company Data Direct, both US and international. Mergent Online can create spreadsheet-ready financial formats and is updated continuously.

Selected Print Reference Sources

Health Care Policy and Politics A to Z
Call Number: Dimond Reference RA 395.A3 R685 2003
ISBN: 1568028520

These are located on Dimond Main Level and represent just a sampling. For more reference resources, search the library catalog or contact the Research Center.

Managed Health Care Simplified: A Glossary of Terms
Call Number: Dimond Reference RA 413 .A86 1999
Hospital Statistics
Call Number: Dimond Reference RA 981.A2 A6234
Annual publication. Most recent volume in Reference; earlier years are under same call number on Dimond Level 5.
Hospital Accreditation Standards
Call Number: Dimond Reference RA 981.A2 J59a 2007

Finding Grants

Foundation Directory Online This link opens in a new window
Provides information on grantmakers and their grants, including foundations, corporate funders and giving programs, and grantmaking public charities in the US Can also search recently awarded grants and recently filed IRS Forms 990 and 990-PF.

Statistical Resources

Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive access to statistical information from state and federal government agencies, IGOs, and nonprofit organizations. (UNH Database)

Health Statistics & Data Management (NH DHHS)
Collects, stores, analyzes and disseminates NH health-related data, including birth, death, hospital, cancer and behavioral risk factor surveillance information.
NH HealthWRQS
A web-based data analysis system that produces reports about common community health indicators.
National Center for Health Statistics
The nation's principal health statistics agency.
Statehealthfacts.org
A project of the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, designed to provide free, up-to-date, and easy-to-use health data on all 50 states on more than 500 health topics.
US Census Data
Extensive population, housing, economic, and geographic data from the US Census Bureau.

OECD Health Statistics This link opens in a new window
Offers the most comprehensive source of comparable statistics on health and health systems across OECD countries. Dates of coverage: 1960-current

Quick Health Data Online
Previously known as the National Women's Health Indicator Database. Provides state- and county-level data. Data are available by gender, race and ethnicity and come from a variety of national and state sources.
NH Health WISDOM
"Developed and maintained by the Division of Public Health Services (DPHS), this site compiles information from many different datasets on hundreds of health related indicators. Health indicators can either inform or measure health choices at the community and individual level. NH Health WISDOM provides a portal for users to directly access these datasets, view and customize reports built from these datasets, and save their reports for later access."
Mass Community Health Information Profile
"MassCHIP provides community-level data to assess health needs, monitor health status indicators, and evaluate health programs. Health care providers, state and federal agencies, universities, community health centers, and local boards of health can all find information relevant to their fields by using MassCHIP."
MA Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance
"The BRFSS is an annual telephone survey that collects data on emerging public health issues, health conditions, risk factors and behaviors."
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality: Data Resources