Skip to main content

Civil War Era (UNH Durham): Citation Styles and Tools

This guide primarily covers the period from 1828 to 1877 in U.S. History, focusing on the origins, course, and consequences of the Civil War. While it does cover military aspects of the war in some detail, it focuses on other topics, as well.

Why Cite?

Research papers generally build on the work of previous writers and researchers. Whenever you write a paper (or create a website, etc.) and use the material of another source, you must document that source. If you don't, you may be guilty of plagiarism. 

Documentation credits the creator of the original work and provides the necessary information for readers to consult the same material. 

The citation style you use determines how your citations should be formatted. Turabian and Chicago Style are often used by historians.

Plagiarism and You

Plagiarism, as defined by the 2015-2016 edition of UNH’s Student Rights, Rules and Responsibilities:

 The unattributed use of the ideas, evidence, or words of another person, or the conveying of the false impression that the arguments and writing in a paper are the student’s own. Plagiarism includes, but is not limited to the following:

1. the acquisition by purchase or otherwise of a part or the whole of a piece of work which is represented as the student’s own;

2. the representation of the ideas, data, or writing of another person as the student’s own work, even though some wording, methods of citation, or arrangement of evidence, ideas, or arguments have been altered;

3. concealment of the true sources of information, ideas, or argument in any piece of work.

Chicago Manual of Style Online

The Chicago Manual of Style, produced by the University of Chicago Press, sets the standard for the format of scholarly publications. Chicago style (as it is known) is used by researchers, undergraduate and graduate students, particularly in the humanities. Citations using Chicago style allow readers to locate the materials used in your research. Therefore, your citations should be as accurate and complete as possible.

Chicago Manual of Style Online

For examples of citation formats only, use the Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide

University of Chicago Press' Chicago Style Q&A

University of Chicago Press' Tools (e.g. manuscript preparation, proof readings, and citation quick-guide)

University of Georgia Libraries Chicago Style Bibliographic Format for References (includes examples of both author-date and documentary-note styles)

Bedford St. Martin's Using Chicago Style to Cite and Document Sources

RefWorks

RefWorks is a web based citation management and bibliography creator tool.

Why use RefWorks?  Because it can help you...

  • create bilbiographies and format citations in papers quickly, saving you time and effort;
  • create, organize, and manage your own personal database of articles and resources online, accessible from anywhere via the web, for one or more research projects;
  • import references easily from many databases;
  • share references with others; and
  • collaborate with others on one or more projects.

See the UNH Library's webpage on how to sign up for RefWorks.

 

Welcome!

This library guide was created to support the study of history at The University of New Hampshire.

Please use this guide to help develop your research. If you need additional assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me by phone, email, IM, or Facebook. My office hours during the fall semester are Monday and online, Sunday night, from 8-11pm. I can also meet at other times to discuss your research needs or for one-on-one instruction on search strategies and sources.

I also serve as liaison to the History Department, so if you want to purchase or gain access to monographs, periodicals, media, or other resources that are not available at UNH, let me know and we'll determine the best strategy for connecting you with the information you need.

I welcome your suggestions for changes or additions to this guide, as well as those geared towards enhancing services provided by the UNH Library.

My Profile

Bill Ross's picture
Bill Ross
Contact:
Special Collections Librarian

Office: Dimond Library 101D
603 862-0346
Website / Blog Page