Skip to main content

Civil War Era (UNH Durham): Journals and Newspapers

This guide primarily covers the period from 1828 to 1877 in U.S. History, focusing on the origins, course, and consequences of the Civil War. While it does cover military aspects of the war in some detail, it focuses on other topics, as well.

Access to Journals

The UNH Library provides access to thousands of scholarly and popular journals. Many are physically located within Dimond Library building and the four branch libraries, but even more are available electronically. All journal titles and holdings information can be found in the Library's online catalog. In addition, if you want  a complete list of available, full-text online journals, click here

Online Indexes for Periodicals

The following subscription databases contain indexes and/or full-text runs of English language current or historic journals.  These will require authentication for off-campus access. If you have any question about access to databases and other electronic resources from home, click here.

Newspapers

The UNH Library subscribes to regional, national, and international newspapers in print, electronic, and microform formats.

Newspapers in Print

  • The print collection is held in the New Book Room on Level Three of Dimond Library.
  • Back issues are located in Dimond Level G closed stacks and need to be requested through the Circulation Desk.
  • We receive newspapers Monday through Friday only, though our newspapers do include Saturday and Sunday papers.
  • We may receive certain papers several days after their publication date.
  • Search our catalog to find specific titles as well as the dates that we hold in our back-files as they vary from title to title

Electronic

  • We have an extensive collection of newspapers available electronically, including both current and historic titles.
  • Use the newspaper databases to find articles or search collections.
  • Newspapers can also be found through the Full Text Journals search box or the library catalog.

Many older titles are also held in microforms.

Welcome!

This library guide was created to support the study of history at The University of New Hampshire.

Please use this guide to help develop your research. If you need additional assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me by phone, email, IM, or Facebook. My office hours during the fall semester are Monday and online, Sunday night, from 8-11pm. I can also meet at other times to discuss your research needs or for one-on-one instruction on search strategies and sources.

I also serve as liaison to the History Department, so if you want to purchase or gain access to monographs, periodicals, media, or other resources that are not available at UNH, let me know and we'll determine the best strategy for connecting you with the information you need.

I welcome your suggestions for changes or additions to this guide, as well as those geared towards enhancing services provided by the UNH Library.

My Profile

Bill Ross's picture
Bill Ross
Contact:
Special Collections Librarian

Office: Dimond Library 101D
603 862-0346
Website / Blog Page