Skip to main content

Civil War Era (UNH Durham): Civil War History Online

This guide primarily covers the period from 1828 to 1877 in U.S. History, focusing on the origins, course, and consequences of the Civil War. While it does cover military aspects of the war in some detail, it focuses on other topics, as well.

UNH Library Digital Collections

The University of New Hampshire Library is committed to developing digitally accessible collections drawn from it printed, manuscript, and image collections. In addition they are working with the Boston Library Consortium to have materials scanned for inclusion in the Internet Archive, a non-prorfit organization that provides free access to researchers, historians, scholars, and the general public.Because most items slated for digitization are drawn from all library collections, especially Government Documents and Special Collections, they include many New Hampshire related materials such as transcibed colonial materials, New Hampshire government publications, town histories, town reports, and UNH publications. Feel free to browse UNH Digital Collections here. Click here to search all texts provided by the Internet Archive. To limit it to those titles drawn from UNH Libraries collections, click here.

Digital Public Library of America

One of the newest, most exciting, and open source discovery platforms is the Digital Public Library of America. It includes over eleven million items form America's libraries, archives, and museums. These include digitized books, photographs, and historical documents from the Smithsonian, the National Archives, major research universities, and digital consortia. Like the online offerings provided by the Library of Congress, these research collections continue to grow.

Using Primary Sources on the Web

The following website, produced by the Reference and User Services Association of the American Library Association, is a useful guide to locating, evaluating, and citing primary sources on the web: Using Primary Sources on the Web 

 

Civil War Resources Online

The following sites are just a sample of the primary source resources currently available online. Most contain materials related to the study of the Civil War era. New websites appear frequently, and existing websites often add to or enrich their content. Those available only to UNH students, faculty and staff will require authentication for off-campus access. If you have any question about access to databases and other electronic resources from home, click here

My Profile

Bill Ross's picture
Bill Ross
Contact:
Special Collections Librarian

Office: Dimond Library 101D
603 862-0346
Website / Blog Page

Welcome!

This library guide was created to support the study of history at The University of New Hampshire.

Please use this guide to help develop your research. If you need additional assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me by phone, email, IM, or Facebook. My office hours during the fall semester are Monday and online, Sunday night, from 8-11pm. I can also meet at other times to discuss your research needs or for one-on-one instruction on search strategies and sources.

I also serve as liaison to the History Department, so if you want to purchase or gain access to monographs, periodicals, media, or other resources that are not available at UNH, let me know and we'll determine the best strategy for connecting you with the information you need.

I welcome your suggestions for changes or additions to this guide, as well as those geared towards enhancing services provided by the UNH Library.