Writing & Research Guides - Astronomy & Astrophysics Research (UNH - Durham)

Physics Reference Sources

Below are a handful of research and writing guides available either online or in print.

Encyclopedia of Physical Science and Technology, 3rd ed.
Available online. This completely revised third edition, which is a university and professional level compendium of chemistry, molecular biology, mathematics, and engineering, is refreshed with numerous articles about current research in these fields.

Research Centers Directory
ISBN: 0080-1518
Available online and in print
Directory of Research Grants
ISBN: 0146-7336
Available in print
A manual for writers of research papers, theses, and dissertations : Chicago style for students and researchers by Turabian, Kate L.
ISBN: 0226823377
The Chicago guide to your career in science : a toolkit for students and postdocs by Bloomfield, Victor A.
ISBN: 0226060640
Publication Date: 2008

Writing & Research Guides that You Can Check Out or Use Online

Looking for some writing and research guides, but not sure exactly where to start? Start here! These Physics Library writing guides are on reserve or in the regular collection -- one is an e-book! Just click to see the catalog record, connect online or come in to use the books; these can all be checked out!

How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper, 6th ed. by Day
ISBN: 0313330409
The Chicago guide to communicating science by Montgomery
ISBN: 0226534847
Doing science : design, analysis, and communication of scientific research by Ivan Valiela
ISBN: 0195079620
The craft of scientific presentations: critical steps to succeed and critical errors to avoid by Alley
ISBN: 0387225870
This book is online; click title and use link in library catalog record to connect.

Chicago Manual of Style Online This link opens in a new window
Includes fully-searchable text with added features such as tools for editors, a quick citation guide, and searchable access to the Chicago Style Q&A, wherein University of Chicago Press manuscript editors answer readers' editorial style questions. Coverage is for 16th-17th editions

Thesis and Dissertation Formatting Manual
From the UNH Graduate School

A Guide to AGU Article Numbers

Pub Matters @ AGU: How to cite an AGU article correctly
A "citation number" has been added to the recommended way to cite AGU articles published in 2002 and later. This entry provides more detail.

Astronomy & Astrophysics Research (UNH - Durham)

Other UNH LibGuides

Avoiding Plagiarism

Physics Reference Sources

Writing & Research Guides that You Can Check Out or Use Online

A Guide to AGU Article Numbers