Skip to main content

Environmental Engineering (UNH - Durham): Find Articles

A quick guide to environmental engineering information available through the UNH Library.

Find Journals

Journal titles can be searched in the UNH Catalog to determine what years are available at UNH, or you can browse the list of UNH fulltext online journals.

For help deciphering journal abbreviations, check the list of Science and Engineering Journal Abbreviations.

Getting Articles

After you use databases to find citations of useful articles, you'll need to locate the articles, too.

Use the Fulltext or Check for Fulltext buttons in the database record to get the article.  It may be online, or you may have to follow the links to search the catalog and get it in print (find the journal at the Library). 

Navigating to the print:  use the links in the Check for Fulltext page to find the journal by Title or ISSN in the UNH Library Catalog.  The science and engineering libraries shelve journals by title, while Dimond uses call numbers.

 If the Location of the volume you need is Storage Per Request Item, use the Request icon at the top toolbar to request the needed volume. 

 If the UNH Library does not have the article you need, the Check for Fulltext page will include a link to InterLibrary Loan so that you can order the article conveniently at no charge. Use of InterLibrary Loan is limited to UNH faculty, staff, and students (undergrads have a limit of 6 requests per week).

If you do not have an InterLibrary Loan account, use the First Time User link on the page to create one. More info about InterLibrary Loan.

Search for Articles

  • To search for articles, try these selected bibliographic databases.  For interdisciplinary topics, be sure to check related databases.
  • Most of these databases have abstracts (article summaries) and provide links to articles.  The links either go to the publisher's website or automatically check the UNH Library Catalog for the journal or conference.
  • You may save your database search results in several formats for future use.  Options depend on the database.
  • To schedule a research consultation on your search, contact the Engineering & Physical Sciences Librarian.  Or, for quick search help, please contact the Engineering, Math & Computer Science Library at 862-1740 or stop by during business hours.