Research Guides: ECN 410-Novelists and Economists (UNH Manchester): Reference Sources

What are reference sources?

Reference sources are available in general or subject specific contexts and in print or online formats. You need to evaluate each source and determine which are helpful to you and appropriate for you to use.

Examples:

Encyclopedias
Dictionaries
Almanacs
Glossaries
Handbooks
Atlases
Bibliographies
Indexes

Orphanage Encyclopedia Article

Orphans and Orphanages
Morton, M. J. (2000). Orphans and orphanages. In P. Finkelman (Ed.), Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century. Gale. Credo Reference

Encylopedias

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Online reference library that provides access to a selection of reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, and books of quotations, not to mention a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy and literature to law.
Britannica Online Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, the Britannica Book of the Year, and an Internet directory that includes more than 130,000 links to Web sites selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors.

Selected Print Reference Sources

American Immigrant Cultures
Call Number: E184.A1 A63448 1997
ISBN: 0028972082
Publication Date: 1997-09-26
Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century
Call Number: E169.1 .E626 2001
ISBN: 0684805006
Publication Date: 2000-12-13