Research Guides: Master of Social Work Program (UNH Durham): Reference Sources

For More Help

Chat, email, or schedule a consultation with a subject librarian!

Ask A Librarian

Why Use Reference Sources?

Reference sources are good places to gather background information on a topic or get ideas when choosing a topic.

Background information:

definitions
specific factual information such as dates
overviews or summaries of topics
recommendations for additional sources
research vocabulary

Types of reference sources

specialized encyclopedias
dictionaries
directories
statistical compilations
handbooks
bibliographies

Selected Online Resources

Encyclopedia of Social Work This link opens in a new window
Reference tool for social workers on topics ranging from international issues to ethical standards. Revised and new articles are added monthly.

Encyclopedia of Interpersonal Violence by Claire M. Renzetti (Editor); Jeffrey L. Edleson (Editor)
ISBN: 1412918006
Publication Date: 2008-06-19
"From assisted suicide and batter women to human trafficking and sex offenders, this guide provides an excellent overview of the state research on interpersonal violence.
Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology by Yolanda Kaye Jackson (Editor)
ISBN: 9781412909488
Publication Date: 2006-08-18
Presents a thorough overview of the psychology of racial, ethnic, and minority issues in the United States, including contributions from social, developmental, methodological, clinical, industrial/organizational, and health, educational, school, and family psychology.

Encyclopedia of Social Measurement This link opens in a new window
Captures the data, techniques, theories, designs, applications, histories, and implications of assigning numerical values to social phenomena. Responding to growing demands for transdisciplinary descriptions of quantitative and qualitative techniques, measurement, sampling, and statistical methods, it will increase the proficiency of everyone who gathers and analyzes data. Covering all core social science disciplines, the articles of the Encyclopedia of Social Measurement not only present a comprehensive summary of observational frameworks and mathematical models, but also offer tools, background information, qualitative methods, and guidelines for structuring the research process. Published 2005
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Online reference library that provides access to a selection of reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, and books of quotations, not to mention a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy and literature to law.

International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences by N. J. Smelser (Editor-In-Chief); P. B. Baltes (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 0080430767
Publication Date: 2001-11-22
This Encyclopedia is the first attempt in a generation to map the social and behavioral sciences on a grand scale. Available in both print (26 volumes) and online editions, it comprises 4,000 articles, commissioned by 52 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.

Finding Grants

Foundation Directory Online This link opens in a new window
Information on grantmakers and their grants including a database of over 96,000 foundations, corporate giving programs, and grantmaking public charities in the U.S.; a database of over 3,600 sponsoring companies; a database of over 1.4 million recently awarded grants.

Grants & Grant Writing Guide

Statistical Resources

These are some good starting points for demographic, social, and economic statistical information. If you aren't finding what you need, Ask a Librarian.

Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive access to statistical information from federal agencies, research organizations, international organizations, commercial publishers and associations. Provides abstracts of statistical publications and links to the full-text for selected publications.

FedStats
Statistics from more than 100 US federal agencies. Access by topic, geographical area, or agency
American FactFinder
Extensive population, housing, economic, and geographic data from the US Census Bureau.
New Hampshire Community Profiles
Information on the 234 incorporated cities and towns in NH. Data presented here comes from a variety of sources, including community response, published reports, and maps.
Kids Count Data Center
Access hundreds of measures of child well-being - by state or across states. Create maps, line graphs, and rankings.
ChildStats.gov
Information on national indicators of child well-being and changes in these indicators over time; data provided by collection of 22 Federal government agencies involved in research and activities related to children and families.