Skip to main content

Guide to Historical Research (UNH Durham): Manuscripts and Archives

Resources and strategies for advanced undergraduate and graduate students in history.

Milne Special Collections and Archives

Milne Special Collections and Archives is located on Level 1 of Dimond Library (Room 101). Reference for and physical access to most materials is available in the department's Dunleavy Reading Room, which is both wireless and handicapped accessible. Please see our regular reference hours. In addition, reference assistance, research consultation, instruction, and tours can be scheduled outside of regularly posted hours.

For web-based guides and contact information, see the following:

Special Collections focuses on rare books, manuscripts, recordings, and artifacts. Prospective researchers, visitors, and donors may contact Special Collections staff.

The University Archives houses UNH records of permanent administrative, legal, fiscal, and historical value. You may direct questions regarding research, donations, records transfer, or file maintenance to Archives staff.

The University Museum features rotating exhibitions which explore and illustrate the history of University or reflect topics and/or collections of community interests. Most of its permanent collections are housed off-site. However, anyone wishing to see or donate UNH-related memorabilia should contact the University Museum curator.

 

 

UNH Library Digital Collections

Digital Collections contains digital versions of books, letters, photographs, and other items from the collections of the University of New Hampshire Library. The focus of Digital Collections is the history of New Hampshire, its people, places, events, governance, and industries, including the history of UNH. Digital Collections also contains historic books on a variety of topics such as science, music, poetry, and fly-fishing.

Primary Sources in Special Collections

New Hampshire history and culture is a major collecting focus of Special Collections; as a result, their are many individual items and collections related to the study of New Hampshire. In terms of print materials, Special Collections contains both New Hampshire Collection and the Lewis M. Stark Collection Early New Hampshire Imprint Collection. Both are located in the Stark Room, in Special Collections and cataloging records for the contents of both collections are in the UNH Library's online catalog.

Manuscript materials are a little trickier because they are largely unique. The Special Collections website contains collections descriptions or finding aids for all processed manuscript collections. To enhance discovery, items may be located by item/collection title, subject area, or site search. These search options are available on all pages.

If one has a well-defined topic, it would probably be best to start with a title or site search. However, to browse the wide-range of New Hampshire-related collections, one could explore subject pages, such as the ones listed below:

If one has questions about the website, in general, or regarding specific items, collections, or their descriptions, please do not hesitate to contact us.

 

My Profile

Bill Ross's picture
Bill Ross
Contact:
Special Collections Librarian

Office: Dimond Library 101D
603 862-0346
Website / Blog Page

Welcome!

This library guide was created to support the study of history at The University of New Hampshire.

Please use this guide to help develop your research. If you need additional assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me by phone, email, IM, or Facebook. My office hours during the fall semester are Monday and online, Sunday night, from 8-11pm. I can also meet at other times to discuss your research needs or for one-on-one instruction on search strategies and sources.

I also serve as liaison to the History Department, so if you want to purchase or gain access to monographs, periodicals, media, or other resources that are not available at UNH, let me know and we'll determine the best strategy for connecting you with the information you need.

I welcome your suggestions for changes or additions to this guide, as well as those geared towards enhancing services provided by the UNH Library.