Research Guides: UMST 521-Tutor Development (UNH Manchester): Reference Sources

Online Reference Sources

Biography in Context
Offers over 600,000 biographies spanning history and geography with over 50,000 new and/or updated biographies added annually.

The following reference resources provide background and context on a topic and are good springboards to further research materials. They may also help to narrow down a broad topic and to focus a research question. Encourage students to use them to discover key terms and people related to a topic, to develop potential theses, and to locate additional resources through bibliographies.

World News Digest (Facts on File) This link opens in a new window
Archival record of domestic and international news is updated weekly, covering all major political, social, and economic events since November 1940.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues.

Britannica Online Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, the Britannica Book of the Year, and an Internet directory that includes more than 130,000 links to Web sites selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Contains original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news, providing in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Reports are published 44 times a year by CQ Press. Note: There is a limit of 10 concurrent users. Dates of coverage: 1991-current
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Online reference library that provides access to a selection of reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, and books of quotations, not to mention a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy and literature to law.
CRS (Congressional Research Service) Reports, 1965-2018 This link opens in a new window
Public policy briefs issued by the Congressional Research Service to inform members of Congress and their staff on subjects of current interest. Funded by taxpayer money and thus all in the public domain, these reports are nonpartisan and concise.
Note: The information on this site is compiled and made available as a public service by the Government Documents Department at the University of North Texas Libraries. UNT does not make any warranty as to the accuracy, reliability, or completeness of the information and is not responsible for any errors or omissions or for results obtained from the use of the information. Distribution of the information does not constitute such a warranty. Use of the information is the sole responsibility of the user.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Online access to the most comprehensive dictionary of the English language.