Start your search in a general agriculture database
CAB Abstracts and AGRICOLA are your best bets for getting started searching for an agriculture topic. Try one or both databases, then then try a few more databases from the lists below that suit your topic.
The most comprehensive database in the applied life sciences, covering agriculture, animal and veterinary sciences, plant sciences, entomology, forestry, soil science, natural resources, public health, nutrition, food science, agricultural engineering, sustainability, tourism, applied economics, and more. Includes citations to articles, book chapters, and grey literature. Only 4 people can use this database subscription at the same time, so if you can't access this database, please try again later.
Selective worldwide coverage of citations in agricultural science and related fields, provided by the USDA National Agricultural Library. While AGRICOLA includes fewer citations than CAB Abstracts, AGRICOLA covers many of the same topics plus includes research on extension and education.
Includes citations to international information in agriculture, food, nutrition, and rural development. Produced by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations. This multilingual database is free for all to use, although it doesn't have as many search options as the databases we pay for.
Full-text materials selected for their historical importance to the field of agriculture. Includes materials published from the early 19th century - late 20th century in the fields of agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, animal science, crops and their protection, food science, forestry, human nutrition, rural sociology, and soil science. Database is created and maintained by Cornell University.
Broaden your perspective -- try databases with wider subject coverage
Facilitates research-level interdisciplinary search. Use the Basic Search to locate articles in high-impact scholarly journals in science, social science, arts, and humanities. Use the unique Cited Reference search for articles that cite an article you already know of, so you can track citations forward in time.
Database of articles on animal biology including taxonomy, biodiversity, behavior, ecology, paleontology, veterinary sciences, and more. You can search by taxa, geography, and/or geologic time periods.
Aggregation of primary research in the fields of organismal biology, ecology, zoology, and environmental science; topics include global warming, stem cell research, and ecological and biodiversity conservation.
Focuses on worldwide technical literature pertaining to the marine and brackish-water environment including marine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, non-living resources, meteorology and geology, plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics.
Collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles covering all aspects of human impact - individual, corporate and local/national governmental - to the environment, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects.
Provides access to the geoscience literature of the world. Contains over 3 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, theses and dissertations, conference papers, and reports, including all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey.
Economics, education, & other alternate perspectives
The premier database for education, providing access to more than 1.4 million records and links to more than 33,000 full-text ERIC documents. For articles, limit to EJ items, for documents, limit to ED items.