Skip to main content

RefWorks Citation Management Software

1. Create an Account or Sign In

In Legacy RefWorks:

a) If you are logging in for the first time you will be asked to "Sign Up for a New Account." You will receive an email confirming your registration.

If you are an off-campus student or faculty member, you will see a page asking for UNH's Subscriber Group Code. Use any of our Ask a Librarian services to obtain the Group Code.

Create a username and password.  TIP:  Use your UNH email name and password for easy recall and retrieval.

b) If you already have an account, sign in.

In New RefWorks:

a) If you are logging in for the first time, you can "Create Account." Do not attempt to "Login Using Your Institution's Credentials."

If you have trouble signing in, please see the Access RefWorks page of this guide. You may have created an account in New RefWorks instead of Legacy RefWorks, or vice versa.

2. Add Citations

There are two ways citations can be added into your RefWorks account:

a) Manually - you can enter the citation data by hand. If you are used to using online citation "calculators," such as EasyBib, this is fairly straightforward.

b) Export to RefWorks - your citation can be exported from most of the library's subscription databases directly into Refworks.

Reminder:  Sign into RefWorks before you begin your database searches for seamless exporting.

3. Search and Export

Search and Export

a) Conduct your search in a database, such as Academic Search Complete by EBSCO. Identify the articles you wish to use in your paper.

b) In the Tools section of your Results, go to Export. Select Export to RefWorks. (Make sure your pop-up blocker is disabled for this.) You might also need to explore the database to find the option to export, which is sometimes named something different, such as "Cite This."

c) When you click Export to RefWorks your citations will be transfered into the Last Imported Folder of RefWorks.


Find your citations

  1. Once you export to RefWorks, the citations can be found in the Last Imported Folder.
  2. These items stay in the Last Imported Folder until the next import occurs, at which time they will go to the Not In Folder folder.
  3. You can also organize your citations into your own folders to find them easily. 

 

4. Create Bibliography

  1. Select the citations your require, either individually, all of them, or by folder.
  2. Select the Create Bibliography button (or use the Bibliography menu). 
  3. Select your preferred format style (e.g, APA, MLA, etc.).
  4. Select your preferred output type (probably Word; HTML will put the bibliography in your browser window). 
  5. Your bibliography will be created. 

Reminder: Review your bibliography and double-check your citations to ensure they are correctly formatted.  In particular, look at capitalization and punctuation and edit as needed.

Tips

  • If RefWorks doesn't know where to put extra information, it goes into the Notes field. This can happen if fields have been tagged incorrectly in your source.
  • Your citation will be incomplete if the database you are exporting from does not include all of the citation information or otherwise codes it incorrectly.  For example, it's very important to know whether your bibliography requires full first names of authors and other details.
  • Review your bibliography for accuracy and edit as needed.