Research Guides: ANTH 500D: Peoples and Cultures of Sub-Saharan Africa: Find Articles

For More Help

Ask a Librarian

Visit, email, chat, or schedule a consultation appointment with a subject librarian

Searching Tips

This 2-page handout describes some search techniques and how to connect to full text articles after doing a database search.

Tips for Successful Online Searching

Boolean Searching

Build more effective searches by learning about "Boolean operators" when connecting your search terms.

Recommended Key Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos touching on all disciplines.

Search these indexes for journal, magazine or newspapers articles, book reviews, conference proceedings, dissertations, etc.

Anthropological Literature (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles, reports, commentaries, and obituaries found in hundreds of journals and monographic series. International coverage includes social and cultural anthropology, Old and New World archaeology, physical anthropology and anthropological aspects of related subjects. Dates of coverage: 19th century-current
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources in a wide range of disciplines. Funded in part by the University of New Hampshire Graduate School. Coverage is not designed for current material, thus it does not cover information from the most recent 2 to 5 years.

Additional Databases to Consider

eHRAF (Human Relations Area Files) World Cultures This link opens in a new window
A cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life, full-text, and fully-indexed, focusing on mostly pre-industrial cultures from around the world, and on North American immigrant groups.

Search these indexes for journal, magazine or newspapers articles, book reviews, conference proceedings, dissertations, etc. For more online resources, check the complete Databases list or talk with a reference librarian.

Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Dates of coverage: 1952-current
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Promotes the creation and dissemination of essential humanities and social science resources through collaboration with libraries, publishers, and scholars worldwide.
Family Studies Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles on marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other areas from the most important journals in the discipline.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Contains all of the content available in LGBT Life with Full Text as well as full text for the most important and historically significant LGBTQ+ journals, magazines regional newspapers, as well as monographs and books. It includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus containing thousands of terms.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center : EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
The premier database for education, providing access to more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text ERIC documents dating back to 1966.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Facilitates research-level interdisciplinary search. Use the Basic Search to locate articles in high-impact scholarly journals in science, social science, arts, and humanities. Use the unique Cited Reference search for articles that cite an article you already know of, so you can track citations forward in time.

Getting Articles

Click on the Check for Full Text icon in the database record to see how to get a copy of the article: whether online, in print or from another library.

This 2-minute video provides a brief demonstration.

If the UNH Library doesn't have the article you want, request it through Interlibrary Loan.

More About Journals

See Scholarly v. Popular for more information about

scholarly and non-scholarly journals
ways to check whether a journal has peer-reviewed articles

Key Anthropology Journals

Browse Tables of Contents from selected important anthropology journals.