Skip to main content

RefWorks Transition

Zotero

Zotero iconThe Library recommends Zotero as the best reference manager for students.

Free • Works on Mac / Windows / Linux •  Microsoft Word & OpenOffice  • Library Support

Zotero is an open source reference manager that collects all your research in a single, searchable interface. You can add PDFs, images, audio and video files, snapshots of web pages, and really anything else. Zotero automatically indexes the full-text content of your library, enabling you to find exactly what you're looking for with just a few keystrokes.

  • Keep track of references as you research a topic
  • Create bibliographies
  • Insert references and bibliographies into your research papers.

Zotero  can be downloaded from https://www.zotero.org

Zotero does charge for storage exceeding 300MB. However, you can use Zotero's Preferences menu to back only your citations to the cloud instead of full-text content, which means you will never hit the storage limit. Another option is to set up Zotero to backup your citations and PDFs using Box, which free as long as you are affiliated with University of New Hampshire.

NOTE: Zotero doesn't play well with Chromebooks. Consider another citation manager, such as EndNote Basic, EndNote, or Mendeley. Not sure which to choose? As professors in your major or researchers in your discipline which citation manager is most often used.

EndNote

EndNote is a commercial software program that can be purchased at the UNH Computer Store. It is expensive to purchase, but there is a 30 day free trial. There is also an academic discount through their website--but check the Computer Store prices first.

EndNote can be used to search databases, collect and organize citations and PDFs. It has an add-in for inserting citations in Microsoft Word documents, and can format bibliographies in  hundreds of bibliographic styles.

 

EndNote Basic

EndNote Basic is a free online version of EndNote that has limited functionality, but still might be right for you. Review this Quick Start Guide.

Access EndNote Basic on the web at myendnoteweb.com or via the Tools menu in UNH Libraries' database, Web of Science.

Mendeley

Mendeley is a free reference manager that is especially strong for managing PDFs. Generate citations and bibliographies. Read, annotate, and search your PDF library. You can also securely share your papers and annotations with a project team. You can also discover other papers and other researchers who are reading the same papers as you.


There is a subscription fee for cloud storage beyond 2GB.

RefWorks

Refworks iconBeginning July 2019, UNH Libraries will no longer subscribe to or support RefWorks, and we recommend against signing up for a new account. Current RefWorks users who wish to export their reference libraries are encouraged to do so by July 1, 2019.

 

RefWorks is free to students, faculty, staff, and alumni. The Library recommends RefWorks only for established users whose primary computer runs on Windows.

 

If you are just getting started with reference management software, you should consider using Zotero. The Library does not recommend RefWorks for Mac users, as the RefWorks add-in for Microsoft Word is inadequate. Windows users can still use RefWorks' Write-N-Cite plug-in for Microsoft Word, which works well. However, keep in mind that Zotero also works well on the Windows platform, and RefWorks may phase out the Write-N-Cite Microsoft Word add-in in favor of its replacement, the RefWorks Citation Manager, which has performed poorly so far.

RefWorks does work well for those who simply wish to keep track of references, store PDFs, and share them collaboratively with colleagues. There are no limits the number of PDFs you can save.

Students, Faculty, & Staff:  Access both Legacy RefWorks (Orange logo) and New RefWorks (Blue logo) from the Library's RefWorks website.