Research Guides: Computer Science (UNH Durham): Books & E-Books

E-Books

O'Reilly This link opens in a new window
Formerly Safari Tech Books Online, is an online learning platform providing access thousands of technical books online. Content emphasizes computer programming, software and apps (including mobile apps) including business aspects.
Lecture Notes in Computer Science This link opens in a new window
Provides searchable, full text access to new developments in computer science and information technology research and teaching. Original research results reported in proceedings and post-proceedings remains the core of LNCS. Dates of coverage: 1997-2017

Good places to acquire in-depth information on a topic.

Remember: you won't necessarily be reading a book from cover to cover.

Tips:

Use the index in the back and table of contents in the front to find relevant information quickly.
Check the bibliography to find other sources of similar information.

Monographs ("single - writing") are books dedicated to one subject.

The UNH Library search box provides one-stop searching for books and e-books; articles in newspapers, journals, and magazines; and video and audio

Select the Library Catalog scope to limit to books, e-books, government publications, and videos located at the UNH Library.

Using the UNH Durham Library Search Box (guide)
Information on features, search scopes, search filters, and working with search results.

UNH Interlibrary Loan
From this page you can learn more about the interlibrary loan system (ILL) or initiate an ILL request.

WorldCat FirstSearch This link opens in a new window
Searches the OCLC catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide. Contains all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries (generally academic, special, large public libraries, and library consortia). Can be searched by subject, title, author, keyword, or a variety of other access points. Materials found via WorldCat (and not in the UNH Library collection) can be ordered through Interlibrary Loan through the WorldCat interface.

Reserves
Search by class name or instructor name to find materials on reserve for your courses.
Engr/Math/CS Library Permanent Reserves (Books)
Lists in-demand reference books and study materials that circulate for short time periods. Just ask for them by title at the desk.
Engr/Math/CS Library Permanent Reserves (Equipment)
Shows the laptops, computer equipment, calculators, headphones, and other equipment you can borrow for 4-hour periods. Laptops are for in-library use.

Computer science books are usually in the call number range: QA 75.5 - QA 76.9

Remember, lots of books are just available online via the Library Catalog, so browse in the catalog too.

For the conference proceedings in Lecture Notes in Computer Science, see shelves before the regular collection; staff can help you! Or, use

Lecture Notes in Computer Science This link opens in a new window
Provides searchable, full text access to new developments in computer science and information technology research and teaching. Original research results reported in proceedings and post-proceedings remains the core of LNCS. Dates of coverage: 1997-2017

OpenDOAR
Allows searches of the contents of institutional repositories which may contain dissertations that are not available through the Digital Dissertations database. Repositories contents are not limited to dissertations; to limit your search add "dissertation" or "thesis" to your keywords in the search box.
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
Search almost 4 million dissertations and theses from around the world. To focus your search, try the "advanced search tips" and use the facets on the left when viewing your search results.