Data & Standards - Environmental Engineering (UNH - Durham)

Technical Data & Information Resources

Specialized reference resources for Environmental Engineering provide authoritative information on processes, properties, data, and instrumentation. At UNH, these may be in print or online. Types of reference resources include:

dictionaries for technical definitions
encyclopedias for processes & technical information
handbooks for technical information and data
atlases and maps
manufacturers’ specifications (not available at the library)
standards for accepted criteria or methods for materials, processes, and products

Resources listed on this page are divided among online and print access.

Acronyms & Abbreviations

Acronyms, Initialisms & Abbreviations Dictionary
Call Number: Reference P365 .A32 2008
ISBN: 0270-4404
This 4 volume set covers a wide range of disciplines.

The Acronym Server has a large collection of acronyms for computer science and other disciplines, searchable by acronym and word.

This list of Science and Engineering Journal Abbreviations includes many journals in mathematics and related fields.

Selected Reference Resources (Online via UNH Library)

The Water Encyclopedia, 3rd ed. (2007)
Valuable source of info on all aspects of water. Includes explanations and much data in tables, graphs, and charts, plus maps. (UNH only)

AccessScience This link opens in a new window
A college-level encyclopedia of science and technology. Includes a science dictionary, an "In the News" section, and several features for undergraduate students: basic tables, study guides, and brief scientific biographies. Mac Users: Use Safari with this database. There have been access problems with Internet Explorer.
Knovel Critical Tables This link opens in a new window
Features tables of properties for commonly used chemical compounds in the physical properties tables. 2nd edition
ASTM Compass This link opens in a new window
Formerly known as ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library; includes all articles, books, and papers published in ASTMs collection of technical books and journals, Special Technical Publications (STPs), manuals and monographs, journal articles, and all active ASTM Standards.
You can search by standard number or keyword (Example: C1329 or "mortar cement")

Selected Reference Resources (In Print Collections at UNH Libraries)

Kirk-Othmer encyclopedia of chemical technology, 5th ed.
Call Number: Eng Ref TP9 .K54 2004 (27 volumes)
ISBN: 0471484946
Essential reference for chemical engineering, explaining concepts and processes with technical details. Index in last volume. Previous editions covering older technologies are also available at UNH Library (see catalog).
Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook, 9th ed.
Call Number: Eng Reserves TP151 .P45 2019 (plus previous editions)
ISBN: 0071834087
Essential reference for process engineering. Includes chemical & physical property data, chem engineering basics, safety, and industrial waste management.
Standard handbook of environmental engineering, 2nd ed. by Corbitt, R. A. (ed.)
Call Number: Eng Ref TD145 .S72 1999
ISBN: 0070131600
Covers environmental engineering, including air, water, and waste management; project management, environmental assessment, and information about legislation (info on regulations may not be current; note year of publication).
Handbook of chemical technology and pollution control, 3rd ed. by Hocking, Martin B. (ed.)
Call Number: Eng Ref TP155 .H58 2005
ISBN: 0120887967
Covers basic principles of air and water pollution, measurement, and treatment, qualitatively and stoichiometrically, including process selection. The bulk of the book offers specific processes for the production of specific commodities with special attention to waste.
Environmental technologies handbook by Nicholas Chereminisoff
Call Number: Eng TD897.5 .E584 2005
ISBN: 086587980X
Chapters written by experts in their fields cover health risk assessment; current and more advanced air quality monitoring; selection criteria for industrial air pollution and air technology; thermal methods for waste treatment; advanced wastewater treatment technology.
CRC handbook of chemistry and physics
Call Number: QD 65 .H3 (multiple editions in UNH libraries)
ISBN: 1439820775
The very handy one-volume handbook for data on chemical compounds and physical properties.
CRC Standard Mathematical Tables and Formulae
Call Number: Engr/Math/CS Library Reference QA47 .M315 2003
ISBN: 1584882913
Useful guide for mathematical work.
AWWA Standards
Call Number: Eng Ref TD351 .A43 (etc.)
Regularly-updated waterworks and drinking water standards from the American Water Works Association.
Standard methods for the examination of water and wastewater by Eaton, Andrew D. et al.
Call Number: Engr/Math Reserves QD142 .A5 23rd ed. (2017) - latest (multiple editions)
ISBN: 8755-3546
The standard reference work for water testing; includes methods for all major pollutants. Twenty editions have been published since 1905.
Environmental instrumentation and analysis handbook by Down, Randy D. & Jay H. Lehr
Call Number: Engr/Math TD193 .E56533 2005
ISBN: 047146354X
Provides practical, technical information on instrumentation and methods to measure and analyze contamination of air, water, and soil.

Environmental Engineering (UNH - Durham): Data & Standards

Technical Data & Information Resources

Acronyms & Abbreviations

Selected Reference Resources (Online via UNH Library)

Selected Reference Resources (In Print Collections at UNH Libraries)