Searching for Articles
Getting Articles
Click on the Find It @ UNH icon in the database record to see how to get a copy of the article: whether online, in print or from another library.
This video provides a brief demonstration.
If the UNH Library doesn't have the article you want, request it through Interlibrary Loan.
Peer Reviewed?
Check:
- the database record for the article, which sometimes indicates whether a journal is peer reviewed
- the journal website, esp. under About Us or Information for Authors
- Ulrichsweb, a database of information about journals, and look for the Refereed symbol next to the journal title
Databases to Search
Search these indexes for journal, magazine or newspapers articles, book reviews, conference proceedings, dissertations, etc.
Sociological Abstracts
Covers sociology and related disciplines in the social and
behavioral sciences, from over 1,640 journals, conference papers, books, and dissertations. Publication date coverage: 1963 to present.
ERIC (Educational Resource Information Center)
Includes citations over 980 educational and
education-related journals plus books, reports, etc. Publication date coverage: 1966 to present.
PsycINFO
Citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports in the field of psychology and the
psychological aspects of related disciplines. Publication date coverage: 1887 to present.
SPORT Discus
Covers all aspects of sports including physical fitness, physical
education, sports medicine, training, coaching, and recreation. Publication date coverage: 1975 to present.
Leisure, Recreation, and Tourism Abstracts
Good international coverage. Publication date coverage: 1973 to present.
Hospitality and Tourism Complete
Covers scholarly research and industry new. Publication date coverage: 1965 to present,
Academic Search Premier
Academic journals and popular magazines from all disciplines.
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service)
Indexes the literature of public policy, social policy, and the
social sciences in general. Publication date coverage: 1972 to present
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Information) Plus with Full Text
Covers over 1,700 professional journals in nursing and allied health disciplines, Publication date coverage: 1937 to present.
Medline (through EBSCOhost)
Journal citations and abstracts for medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary
medicine, the healthcare system. Publication date coverage: 1966 to present.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Continuously updated bibliography of music literature that includes records from 3,700 journals. Publication date coverage: 1969 to present.
GreenFILE
Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles covers all aspects of human impact on the environment.
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Full-text database of news articles from international and national
newspapers, magazines and trade journals, and broadcast media
transcripts.
Business Source Premier
Includes scholarly journals and
business periodicals. Publication date coverage: 1993 to present; some titles include earlier indexing
For more online resources to help with your research, check out the complete Database List.
Reference Librarian |
Louise BuckleyReference Desk: 862-1544 - Dimond Main Level.
Office: 862-1435 - Dimond 323C
Send Email
Getting Help
See Ask a Librarian for ways to contact us, hours, and locations.
Description
Loading content... please wait


Loading content... please wait