More About Periodicals
This is the "Getting Started" page of the "English Literature (UNH Durham)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

English Literature (UNH Durham)   Tags: british_literature, literary_theory  

Last Updated: Aug 15, 2013 URL: http://libraryguides.unh.edu/englishliterature Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Credits

This research guide was created by David Severn, Reference Librarian, and is currently maintained by other librarians at UNH.

 

Your Library

If you need help:

using any of the library services,

researching a topic,

finding any information, etc etc

do not hesitate to contact the Reference Desk.

WE ARE HERE TO HELP YOU!

Phone - 603-862-1544

Email, chat or visit

Hours

Virtual Tour

Locations

 

What Resources Could I Use?

Books
Over 1.5 million books that can be borrowed and taken out of the Library.

Over 25,000 Reference books that stay in the Library
and a growing collection of reference databases.

Books and materials from other libraries:

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service
Boston Library Consortium (BLC) Virtual Catalog (Books only)

Reserve
Materials that have been placed on Reserve by faculty members for specific courses. These have shorter loan periods.

Periodicals
An extensive collection of print periodicals and newspapers, as well as a growing number of electronic journals.

Specialized collections
Government Information Department
A collection of US government & Canadian government publications and materials.

Special Collections & Archives
The department focuses on rare books, manuscripts, recordings, photographs, artifacts and source materials relating to the University, New Hampshire and other special topics.

Multimedia Center
Recordings include classical, jazz, folk, Broadway shows, plus spoken word recordings of plays. A video collection on cassette, laser disc, DVD including educational and TV documentaries, feature films, Shakespeare and other drama, and operas.

People
Librarians
Professors
Associations and Organizations
Experts or participants

 

Finding Books

The pulldown menu can be set to search UNH Libraries only or broadened to search Boston Library Consortium (BLC) holdings or libraries worldwide (mostly in the US and Canada).

Items not available at the UNH Libraries usually can be requested from BLC or other libraries by using the Request option located on the right side of an item record.


The above is a keyword search of titles, authors, subjects, and content notes.

Results are ranked by relevance. Further refining by date, format, language, and other fields is possible.


The Classic Library Catalog provides alternative searches by book/journal title, author, subject, keyword etc.

Below are examples of SUBJECT Headings used in the UNH catalog

Creative Writing

Dickens, Charles

English Fiction -- 20th Century -- History and Criticism

English Fiction -- Women Authors -- History and Criticism

English Literature -- 19th Century -- History and Criticism

English Literature -- 20th Century -- History and Criticism

Postmodernism (Literature)

The library catalog will identify books, journal titles (not articles), DVDs/videos, musical scores and recordings, maps, etc. at the Durham and Manchester campus libraries.

 

If Not at UNH

- Request from the UNH-Manchester Library if available there.

- Request from the Boston Library Consortium Catalog Books only. Use also for books already circulating at the UNH Library.

- Request through Interlibrary Loan (ILL) For any type of material: book, article, DVD, video, etc. but only if not owned by UNH.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip