Find Articles - SW 525 - Social Welfare Policy: History of Social and Economic Justice (UNH Durham)

For More Help

Ask a Librarian

Visit, email, chat, or schedule a consultation appointment with a subject librarian

Searching Tips

This 2-page handout describes some search techniques and how to connect to full text articles after doing a database search.

Tips for Successful Online Searching

Boolean Searching

Build more effective searches by learning about "Boolean operators" when connecting your search terms.

Recommended Key Databases

Search these indexes for journal, magazine or newspapers articles, book reviews, conference proceedings, dissertations, etc.

Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 35,000 records from social work and other related journals. Publication date coverage: 1977 to present.
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) Index This link opens in a new window
ndexes the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general. Publication date coverage: 1972 to present.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos touching on all disciplines.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences, from over 1,640 journals, conference papers, books, and dissertations. Publication date coverage: 1963 to present.

Additional Databases to Consider

Depending on your specific topic, population of interest, approach, etc., consider one of the following specialized databases. For more online resources, check out the complete Database List.

ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center : EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
The premier database for education, providing access to more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text ERIC documents dating back to 1966.
Criminal Justice Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals from all areas of criminology and criminal justice and from around the world. Dates of coverage: 1968-current
Violence & Abuse Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes books and journals covering essential areas related to violence and abuse, including family violence, sexual assault, emotional abuse, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Dates of coverage: 1995-current
Family Studies Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles on marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other areas from the most important journals in the discipline.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Contains all of the content available in LGBT Life with Full Text as well as full text for the most important and historically significant LGBTQ+ journals, magazines regional newspapers, as well as monographs and books. It includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus containing thousands of terms.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos touching on all disciplines.

Getting Articles

Click on the Check for Full Text icon in the database record to see how to get a copy of the article: whether online, in print or from another library.

This 2-minute video provides a brief demonstration.

If the UNH Library doesn't have the article you want, request it through Interlibrary Loan.

Peer Review?

Check:

the database record for the article, which sometimes indicates whether a journal uses peer review
the journal website, especially under About Us or Information for Authors (Example)

Ulrichsweb This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic and access information for thosands of serials. Entries provide ISSN, publisher, language, subject, abstracting & indexing coverage, full-text database coverage, tables of contents, and reviews written by librarians.

Note: Not everything in a journal is peer reviewed; letters to the editor, book reviews, news items, and other short works without listed references are typically not peer reviewed the way more substantive articles are.

SW 525 - Social Welfare Policy: History of Social and Economic Justice (UNH Durham): Find Articles