Skip to main content

ENGL 806 - The Art of Research for Creative Writing (UNH - Durham)

Information and resources for Prof. Susan Hertz's course

UNH Library Search


Search Tips

UNH Library Search

The main search box on the Library's homepage searches the classic catalog and a selection of our more than 400 subject-specific databases. Search individual catalogs or databases using the individual links below the main search box.

In catalogs, look for relevant Library of Congress subject headings in records found from keyword searches.

Subdivisions can help make your searches more precise. For example:

  • Personal Narratives - finds first-person accounts
  • Diaries
  • Correspondence
  • Pictorial Works - identifies where more than 50% of a work consists of illustrations
  • Social life and customs - helps identify works on everyday life
  • Psychological Aspects
  • Moral and Ethical Aspects
  • Economic Aspects

The following article provides more detail on subdivisions and additional recommendations:

The main search box on the library home page searches approximately 120 of our several hundred databases plus the UNH library catalog.

Suggestions when using this include:

  • Using Advanced Search for more options
  • Selecting desired Source Types
  • Be careful limiting by Geography since many databases don't have a Geography field to search
  • Checking Content Providers  to identify specific relevant databases to search individually

 

Use the Advanced Search option whenever available. This will alert you to ways that you can refine your search using fields specific to that database.

When typing in your search terms, consider using

  • truncation to search different endings for the same stem; the asterisk is the symbol used by most databases
    • Example: pharmac* returns results with the words: pharmacy, pharmacies, pharmacists, pharmaceutical
  • quotation marks to indicate a phrase
    • Example: "camino de santiago"
  • Boolean operators (connectors)
    • and - tells the system to include all the search words (this creates fewer results)
    • or - tells the system to include any one of the words in the search results; use for synonyms or alternative words for the concept you want (this creates more results)

 

Under Settings:

  • check that Library Links shows that "University of New Hampshire - Full Text @ UNH" is selected
  • you can set the Bibliography Manager to show links to export citations to RefWorks

Google.com

Specify the domain to target the sources of your results.

  • Site:.org - retrieves pages from organization sites. This would eliminate most company and commercial sites but will still include Wikipedia.org results
  • Site:.edu - retrieves pages from education-related and university sites
  • Site:.gov - retrieves pages from government sites (US federal, state, some municipalities)
Loading

Information Formats to Search

Search the UNH library catalog by the newspaper title to see if we have it in print, online, or in microfilm. Some newspapers on microfilm include the Union Leader, Concord Monitor, and Foster's Daily Democrat.

City or regional newspapers maybe on microfilm at other libraries. Search the BLC WorldCat catalog and use interlibrary loan to request the microfilm for the date(s) you're interested in.

Also consider exploring or contacting local libraries and/or historical societies, special collections and archives at colleges & universities in the area, and organizations or associations related to your topic.

Loading