Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Reference Resources
Search for definitions and descriptions from an online collection of high quality reference sources in sociology.
Online reference library that provides access to a selection of reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, and books of quotations, not to mention a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy and literature to law.
Includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, the Britannica Book of the Year, and an Internet directory that includes more than 130,000 links to Web sites selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors.
eHRAF (Human Relations Area Files) World Cultures
A cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life, full-text, and fully-indexed, focusing on mostly pre-industrial cultures from around the world, and on North American immigrant groups.
Ethnographic Video Online
A comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior--more than 750 hours and 1,000 films at completion (still in progress).
The collection covers every region of the world, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more.