Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Beyond the Basics of Searching
The search box looks through many of the library databases to help you locate what you need, but doesn't find everything.
Here are some additional resources that may be helpful for more advanced searching.
Each of these tools has specialized information about business, current topics, statistics, etc. Some of them give charts or graphs, some of them have reports, and some are in other formats. There is a wide range of information available for your research experience.
As always, ask Ben or Wendy for guidance when you are searching, especially if you can't find what you are looking for.
Keyword & Subject Searching
- word(s) you choose are searched anywhere in the database record describing the article or item
- flexible but can miss useful items if your terms are not included in relevant records
- may return many irrelevant results since search terms can appear anywhere in record
- use word(s) or term(s) designated as subjects or descriptors in that particular database that describe the content of the article
- a precise way of searching a database and usually retrieves the most relevant results
- less flexible since you need to know the correct subject terms for that database
To find subjects or descriptors:
- check these fields in the most relevant records you find through keyword searching
- look for a subjects list or thesaurus in the database you are using
Additional Business Research Resources
Includes Industry Research Reports that provide key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, major industry participants.
Provides access to resources covering company, country, industry, and product intelligence as well as business strategies and news and opinion.
Provides private company data on over 250 million privately held companies globally.
Tool for researching quantitative data, statistics and related information from a wide range of sources.
Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA)
A reference directory that contains detailed information on nearly 12 million U.S. businesses. Good for smaller, private companies with single locations.
Quick Links Business Newspapers and Magazines (Full text access)
Harvard Business Review
Available in full text 1922-present
Wall Street Journal
Access in HTML format to WSJ, which has extensive coverage of stock markets, finance, company news, investments and business-oriented news as well as in-depth features focusing on the national and world economy. Searchable by keyword, type of articles, etc.
The Financial Times
Full text available from 05/31/1996 to 1 month ago.
New York TImes
Available from 1992-present
Available from 1996- current issue
Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues.
Online reference library that provides access to a selection of reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, and books of quotations, not to mention a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy and literature to law.
First Year Experience & Student Success Librarian