Research Guides: ANTH685: Search in Databases

Health Databases

MEDLINE on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from thousands of current biomedical journals.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Provides access to articles in medical research journals and citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books; subject coverage includes medicine, nursing, pharmacy, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and health care.

Anthropological Literature (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles, reports, commentaries, and obituaries found in hundreds of journals and monographic series. International coverage includes social and cultural anthropology, Old and New World archaeology, physical anthropology and anthropological aspects of related subjects. Dates of coverage: 19th century-current
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources in a wide range of disciplines. Funded in part by the University of New Hampshire Graduate School. Coverage is not designed for current material, thus it does not cover information from the most recent 2 to 5 years.

LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Contains all of the content available in LGBT Life with Full Text as well as full text for the most important and historically significant LGBTQ+ journals, magazines regional newspapers, as well as monographs and books. It includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus containing thousands of terms.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Dates of coverage: 1952-current
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Facilitates research-level interdisciplinary search. Use the Basic Search to locate articles in high-impact scholarly journals in science, social science, arts, and humanities. Use the unique Cited Reference search for articles that cite an article you already know of, so you can track citations forward in time.

UNAIDS
Searchable publications provided by UNAIDS, a global organization at the forefront of AIDS advocacy, services, coordination, and response.
WHO HIV/AIDS
The World Health Organization's page on HIV/AIDS. Includes data, guidelines, and other documentation.