Research Guides: NURS 704: Public Health Nursing: Find Articles

Key Databases

Recommended databases to start with:

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) Complete
The definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature, with full text for more than 770 journals and indexing for more than 5000 journals. CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. 12 concurrent users; for course or database instructional use please call 1-800-758-5995 and unlimited access will be granted for a limited time.
more...less...
12 concurrent users; for course or database instructional use please call 1-800-758-5995 and unlimited access will be granted for a limited time.
MEDLINE (through EBSCO)
Same content as PUBMED but in an easier to use interface. Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences; e-books are included in the collections.
PubMed
Provides access to articles in medical research journals and citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books; subject coverage includes medicine, nursing, pharmacy, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and health care.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Provides nearly 550 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines, with particular emphasis on nursing and allied health and indexing for more than 820 journals.

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. It is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Facilitates research-level interdisciplinary search. Use the Basic Search to locate articles in high-impact scholarly journals in science, social science, arts, and humanities. Use the unique Cited Reference search for articles that cite an article you already know of, so you can track citations forward in time.

UpToDate
An evidence-based knowledge system with content written and edited by a global community of physicians, world-renowned experts in their specialties. Includes more than 9,500 clinical topics across 20 specialties, including more than 8,500 graded treatment recommendations. Authors follow a rigorous editorial process, continually reviewing the content to ensure it is of the highest quality and based on the latest evidence. Also includes medical calculators and a drug and drug interaction database.
LitCovid
Keep up to date on recent COVID-19 related publications.

PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) Index This link opens in a new window
Covers all subjects that bear on public affairs and public policy, including the policy-oriented literature of academic social sciences such as economics, finance, law, education, the military, political science, public administration, international law and relations. Indexes publications from and about all countries, PAIS Archive coverage: 1915-1976; PAIS International coverage: 1972-current

Depending on your specific topic, population of interest, approach, etc., consider whether any of the following specialized databases may be helpful:

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources in a wide range of disciplines. Funded in part by the University of New Hampshire Graduate School. Coverage is not designed for current material, thus it does not cover information from the most recent 2 to 5 years.
EthxWeb: Literature in Bioethics This link opens in a new window
Focuses on citations to journal articles, book chapters, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, books, audio-visuals, and news articles relating to bioethics and professional ethics. Dates of coverage: 1974-2009

Nexis Uni
Formerly Lexis-Nexis Academic. Full-text database of news, business, legal and government information. News resources include international and national newspapers, magazines, trade journals, and broadcast media transcripts. Legal resources include state and federal statutes, regulations, case law, and law reviews/journals. Also includes extensive legal guides by subject and EU legal sources.
Westlaw Campus Research
An online legal resource for law-related areas such as criminal justice, social work, business and education. This research tool features legal encyclopedias, court decisions, law reviews and journals, statutes, and more.
See Databases by Subject for more ideas