Research Guides: ASL I & II Resources: Find Articles

Biography Databases

American Annals of the Deaf
"The American Annals of the Deaf is a scholarly journal dedicated to quality in education and related services for d/Deaf or hard of hearing children and adults."

Gale In Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
Offers over 600,000 biographies spanning history and geography with new and/or updated biographies added annually.
Dictionary of Literary Biography This link opens in a new window
Provides biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres, including authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers, and playwrights.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
The national record of men and women who have shaped British history and culture worldwide, from Roman Britain to the present
American National Biography This link opens in a new window
Profiles of deceased men and womenfrom all eras and walks of life whose lives have shaped the US. All articles originally included in ANB Online were on biographical subjects who died before the end of 1995. Articles on important figures who have died since 1995 are being added in quarterly updates, but coverage of people in this category is not yet complete. If you cannot find an article on a subject, he or she may have died after 1995, or may be living. Dates of coverage: 1600s-current
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Includes all of Gale’s Contemporary Authors Online and selected content from the Gale sets Dictionary of Literary Biography and Literature Criticism Online, as well as other literature sources.
Australian Dictionary of Biography This link opens in a new window
Interpretative biographical articles on deceased (prior to 1991) people from every social group and sphere of endeavor who have made a significant contribution to the Australian nation. Coverage begins with the first European exploration of Australia-1990; entries are currently being edited for people who died in 1991-2000.
Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography This link opens in a new window
Provides information on the history of science through articles on the professional lives of scientists. All periods of science from classical antiquity to modern times are represented. Dates of coverage: Classical antiquity-current

Key Recommended Databases

New York Times Online This link opens in a new window
Provides current articles, classifieds, and the crossword puzzle from the New York times, plus the TimesMachine and archives in a variety of categories.

To access, first time users must select University of New Hampshire from the drop down menu, then register with their UNH email address.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations. Dates of coverage: 1973-current

Communication and Mass Media Complete
Abstracts and full-text content from publications worldwide pertaining to communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and other fields relevant to the discipline.

Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Promotes the creation and dissemination of essential humanities and social science resources through collaboration with libraries, publishers, and scholars worldwide.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Contains bibliographic records of scholarly research from journals, books and book chapters, proceedings, and other formats. Covers research in literature, literary theory and criticism, language, dramatic arts, linguistics, and folklore.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos touching on all disciplines.
Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
An integrated research experience that brings together Gale’s premier literary databases. The cross-search allows researchers of all levels to find a starting point, search across a wide array of materials and points in time, and discover new ways to analyze information.
Currently, users can cross-search these collections with Gale Literature:
Gale Literature Criticism – one of the largest, most extensive compilations of literary commentary available
Gale Literature Resource Center – up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods, and from around the world
LitFinder – a wealth of literary works, including over 150,000 full-text poems and 800,000 poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays
Subcollections of eBook titles – including Scribner Writers and Twayne's Authors
Dictionary of Literary Biography – signed scholarly essays that provide essential context to understand the careers and writings of more than 12,000 authors from all time periods and all parts of the world
Something About the Author – engaging biographies of classic, contemporary, and emerging authors and illustrators of children's and young adult literature
Contemporary Authors – current biographical and bibliographical data on more than 120,000 modern authors