Research Guides: Health Data Science: Find Articles

Key Datasets

ICPSR This link opens in a new window
This data archive acquires, processes, and provides access to social science data for research and instruction. ICPSR data cover many disciplines, including political science, sociology, history, economics, gerontology, demography, criminal justice, public health, education, law, and international relations.

Note: Users must register for an account. Current UNH students, faculty, and staff only are eligible for direct downloading of all datasets. Set up ICPSR MyData login account by clicking on the link in the upper left corner of the page.
OECD Health Statistics This link opens in a new window
Offers the most comprehensive source of comparable statistics on health and health systems across OECD countries. Dates of coverage: 1960-current

Recommended databases to start with:

Point of Care Tools

UpToDate
An evidence-based knowledge system with content written and edited by a global community of physicians, world-renowned experts in their specialties. Includes more than 9,500 clinical topics across 20 specialties, including more than 8,500 graded treatment recommendations. Authors follow a rigorous editorial process, continually reviewing the content to ensure it is of the highest quality and based on the latest evidence. Also includes medical calculators and a drug and drug interaction database.
Dynamed Plus
An evidence-based point-of-care tool ideal for clinical settings. It contains concise summaries and detailed recommendations based on the most current evidence, as well as drug content, medication management, and IV compatibility information from Micromedex Standard Drug Information.

DSM-5 This link opens in a new window
A classification of mental disorders with associated criteria designed to facilitate more reliable diagnoses of these disorders. PDFs of earlier DSM editions are available. 5th edition, 2013

Biomedical and Health Literature Databases

Reader's Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Readers' Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. Dates of coverage: 1890-1982
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive nursing and allied health research database covering nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and more. Dates of coverage: 1937-current
MEDLINE on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from thousands of current biomedical journals.

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
A leading journal and database for systematic reviews in health and medicine. A global and independent network of researchers, health professionals, and patients utilize rigorous methodologies to produce high quality, relevant, and up-to-date synthesized research evidence, protocols, editorials, and supplements.

Other Databases To Consider

Depending on your specific topic, population of interest, approach, etc., consider whether any of the following specialized databases may be helpful:

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources in a wide range of disciplines. Funded in part by the University of New Hampshire Graduate School. Coverage is not designed for current material, thus it does not cover information from the most recent 2 to 5 years.
EthxWeb: Literature in Bioethics This link opens in a new window
Focuses on citations to journal articles, book chapters, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, books, audio-visuals, and news articles relating to bioethics and professional ethics. Dates of coverage: 1974-2009

Nexis Uni
Formerly Lexis-Nexis Academic. Full-text database of news, business, legal and government information. News resources include international and national newspapers, magazines, trade journals, and broadcast media transcripts. Legal resources include state and federal statutes, regulations, case law, and law reviews/journals. Also includes extensive legal guides by subject and EU legal sources.
Westlaw Campus Research
An online legal resource for law-related areas such as criminal justice, social work, business and education. This research tool features legal encyclopedias, court decisions, law reviews and journals, statutes, and more.
See Databases by Subject for more ideas
Symptom Media: Mental Health Education & Training Film Library
Mental health education and training film library of mental health simulations providing viewers with training tools critical for symptom recognition. The films offer visual guideposts to better understand what a particular mental health diagnosis looks like and decreases the stigma for those facing psychological issues.

PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Database of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. Dates of coverage: 1894-current
PsycTests (EBSCOhost APA) This link opens in a new window
A repository for a growing selection of psychological tests and measures, including thousands of actual test instruments and test items that are available for immediate download and use in research and teaching. An authoritative source of structured information about tests of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. While focused on contemporary instances of test use, coverage spans more than a century. Also provides access to an increasing number of tests that are available in languages other than English.
PsycINFO (EBSCOhost APA) This link opens in a new window
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. It is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Facilitates research-level interdisciplinary search. Use the Basic Search to locate articles in high-impact scholarly journals in science, social science, arts, and humanities. Use the unique Cited Reference search for articles that cite an article you already know of, so you can track citations forward in time.