Research Guides: MKTG 644: Retailer Research Resources

Reccomended Resource

Mergent Online
Mergent Online is an integration of various databases containing company information and documents. Moody's Industrial Manual and the EDGAR filings are included in this database along with Company Data Direct, both US and international. Mergent Online can create spreadsheet-ready financial formats and is updated continuously.

Using Mergent Online:

BASIC SEARCH- search by company using name to locate the retailer of your choice

From the search results, to access COMPANY FINANCIALS export data via excel for current figures on inventory, cash, income, assets, etc. or access EQUITY PRICING to compare your retailer to up to four other companies. Other tabs include filings, company reports, executive information, etc.

Need help with using Mergent Online? Consult the company financials HOW TO or the equity pricing FAQ or contact the Business Librarian for a research consultation over Zoom.

Additional Research Resources

Mergent Intellect
Provides company data on over 250 million public and privately held companies globally. Also provides industry overviews by SIC and NAICS codes. Company news, tweets, and executive information is also available.
Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA)
A reference directory that contains detailed information on nearly 12 million U.S. businesses. Good for smaller, private companies with single locations.
Pitchbook
Pitchbook features real time data to research and analyze companies, PE & VC deals, funds, investors, and service providers across the entire private investment lifecycle.
more...less...
Pitchbook is available to authorized users of UNH (including full and part-time students, faculty, and staff). To access, users must log-in with their individual account username and password.

First-time users, proceed to register for a free account using your @unh.edu or @wildcats.unh.edu email address while on campus or connected remotely via VPN client.
Marketline
Provides access to resources covering company, country, industry, and product intelligence.
Search by company name to locate:
-list of products & brands
-SWOT analysis
-financials
-company history
-competitors
Statista
Statista provides visualized data on consumer behavior, brand preferences, attitudes, and spending. Also includes visualized data and infographics on companies, current news topics, industries and more
Consumer Price Index
a measure of the average change over time in the prices paid by urban consumers for a market basket of consumer goods and services. Indexes are available for the U.S. and various geographic areas. Average price data for select utility, automotive fuel, and food items are also available.