Research Guides: ENGL 419--How to Read Anything (UNH Manchester): Reference Sources

Online Biographical Resources

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
The national record of men and women who have shaped British history and culture worldwide, from Roman Britain to the present
Dictionary of Literary Biography This link opens in a new window
Provides biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres, including authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers, and playwrights.

Biography in Context
Offers over 600,000 biographies spanning history and geography with over 50,000 new and/or updated biographies added annually.

All Things Shakespeare by Kirstin Olsen
Call Number: REF PR2892 .O56 2002
ISBN: 0313315035
Publication Date: 2002-10-30
Encyclopedia of the Renaissance
Call Number: REF CB361 .E52 1999
ISBN: 0684805146
Publication Date: 1999-12-17
William Shakespeare by John F. Andrews (Editor)
Call Number: REF PR2976 .W5354 1985
ISBN: 0684178516
Publication Date: 1905-06-01
Shakespeares after Shakespeare by Richard Burt
Call Number: REF PR2880.A1 S48 2006
ISBN: 9780313331176
Publication Date: 2006-06-01

Literature Criticism Online
Online version of Gale’s Literature Criticism series, including: Contemporary Literary Criticism; Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800; Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism; Twentieth-Century Literature Criticism; Poetry Criticism; Short Story Criticism; and Shakespearean Criticism.

Dictionary of Literary Biography This link opens in a new window
Provides biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres, including authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers, and playwrights.

Literature Online (LION)
A full-text resource of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, from the Anglo-Saxon period to the present. Contains more than 350 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources. Provides access to both primary and secondary sources.

Oxford Handbooks Online: History and Literature 2014 This link opens in a new window
Each Handbook offers thorough introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship in a particular field of study, creating an original conception of the field and setting the agenda for new research. The articles review the key issues and major debates, and provide an original argument for how those debates might evolve. Note: UNH's access is for the Oxford Handbooks Online History, Literature Collections 2014.

CREDO Reference
Online reference library that provides access to a selection of reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, and books of quotations, not to mention a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy and literature to law.

Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Contains the complete text of the 20-volume Second Edition, first published in 1989, together with its 3-volume Additions Series, published in 1993 (volumes 1 and 2) and 1997 (volume 3), and recent online updates.