Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Good places to gather background information on a topic or get ideas when choosing a topic.
- specific factual information such as dates
- overviews or summaries of topics
- recommendations for additional sources
Types of reference sources
- specialized encyclopedias
- statistical compilations
For More Help
Research Center Phone: 603-862-1544
Visit, email, chat, or schedule a consultation appointment with a subject librarian.
Selected Online Reference Sources
Key Concepts in Early Childhood Education and Care
Identifies and explains key terms and practices, details key issues, and provides reading and reference sources to assist in identifying further material.
Handbook of Research on the Education of Young Children
Provides a comprehensive overview of important contemporary issues and covers topics in these major areas:
- Early Childhood Education and Child Development
- Early Childhood Educational Curriculum
- Foundations of Early Childhood Educational Policy
- Research and Evaluation Strategies for Early Childhood Education
Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development
Covers a range of topics from prenatal development to education, pediatrics, neuroscience, theories and research methods to physical development, social development, cognitive development, psychopathology and parenting. It also looks at cultural issues, sex differences and the history of child development.
Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology
Presents a thorough overview of the psychology of racial, ethnic, and minority issues in the United States.
Selected Print Reference Sources
Handbook of Adolescent Psychology
Call Number: Dimond Reference BF 724 .H33 2004
2nd ed. Broad areas covered include
- Foundations of the developmental science of adolescence
- Social Relationships and social contexts in adolescence
- Adolescent challenges, choices, and positive youth development
These are located on Dimond Main Level and represent just a sampling. For more reference resources, search the library catalog or contact the Research Center.
Comprehensive access to statistical information from state and federal government agencies, IGOs, and nonprofit organizations.
Extensive population, housing, economic, and geographic data from the US Census Bureau.
New Hampshire Community Profiles
Information on the 234 incorporated cities and towns in the State of New Hampshire. Data presented here comes from a variety of sources, including community response, published reports, and maps.
Kids Count Data Center
Access hundreds of measures of child well-being - by state or across states. Create maps, line graphs, and rankings.
Site provides information on national indicators of child well-being and monitors changes in these indicators over time; data provided by collection of 22 Federal government agencies involved in research and activities related to children and families.
Foundation Directory Online
Information on grantmakers and their grants including a database of over 96,000 foundations, corporate giving programs, and grantmaking public charities in the U.S.; a database of over 3,600 sponsoring companies; a database of over 1.4 million recently awarded grants; and a keyword-searchable database of over 533,000 recently filed IRS Forms 990 and 990-PF.