Skip to main content

Nursing: Citing & Writing

Research sources for nursing

For More Help

Contact the Research Center:

Phone - 603-862-1544

Visit, email, chat, text or schedule a consultation appointment!

About APA

The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association sets the standard for the format of scholarly publications. APA style (as it is known) is used by researchers and graduate students, particularly in the social sciences. Citations using APA style allow readers to locate the materials used in your research. Therefore, your citations should be as accurate and complete as possible.

For examples of how to cite various sources, look at some of the sites listed in the Online and Print Resources box on this page.

RefWorks

RefWorks is a web based citation management and bibliography creator tool.

Why use RefWorks? 

  • to create bibliographies and format citations in papers quickly;
  • to create, organize, and manage your own personal database of articles and resources online;
  • to import references easily from many databases;
  • to share references with others; and
  • to collaborate with others on one or more projects.

For more information, and to set up a free account, click the link below.

Online & Print Resources

Please note that the APA Style Manual was recently revised and the 6th edition is the most current. Check that any sites or books you view for examples are using the edition your instructor wants you to use.

Databases and Citation Styles

Some library databases, such as those from EBSCO and ProQuest, allow you to get bibliographic information in selected citation styles, such as APA or MLA, when emailing and saving records. 

You can also Export citations from many databases in our licensed citation manager RefWorks

How to Avoid Plagiarism

Below are documents that provide some tips on avoiding plagiarism.