Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Bibliographic Management Software
As a UNH faculty, staff, or student you can create a free RefWorks account. RefWorks allows you to import citation information directly from many of the databases available through UNH and arrange your sources in folders. RefWorks uses this citation information to generate and format bibliographies and in-text citations according to the style of your choosing. The RefWorks tutorials are broken down by subject and extremely helpful and easy to follow.
Zotero is a free, open source bibliographic management tool that operates as an extension of the Firefox browser. Zotero allows the collection of citations to any kind of material and automatically formats bibliographies in almost any style. Zotero also has many search, tagging, and note taking features. Visit the Zotero quick start guide to learn more.
EndNote is offered through the Web of Science database. It enables users to collect, organize, and format citations the Web of Science database and other ISI products and to input citations to any other outside matrials. To register, go into the Web of Science database and click on "My EndNote Web" at the top of the screen. Endnote accounts can be accessed from any computer at the institution or off-campus through Blackboard or VPN.
The goal of a literature review is to find all the relevant publications on a topic and to then summarize and synthesize that information. A literature review can help you find areas where further research is needed, narrow a research topic, or determine if a thesis question is unique. Talk to your advisor for help defining your research question. For help with library resources, talk to your librarian; they can help you find a combination of resources that will result in a comprehensive search.
Indexes and Databases
ACM Digital Library
The Digital Library allows you to search the full text collection of all articles published in ACM journals, ACM conference proceedings, and newsletters.
Indexes computer and information science literature and includes full text of articles and citation statistics. Allows the full text of articles to be searched.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library
Covers IEEE journals, magazines, conference proceedings, standards, and IEE/IET conference proceedings, with full text 1988-present & selected as early as 1913.
Web of Science
Indexes over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
Provides citations and abstracts to over 7 million articles, books, conference proceedings, and reports in the fields of physics, electrical engineering, and computing, including information technology. Produced by IET. UNH coverage is from 1896 to the present. You can co-search Inspec with Compendex (Engineering Index); you lose precision but gain breadth.
Computing Research Repository (CoRR)
Archives computer science papers with some coverage back to 1993. Includes full text of all papers. Frequently updated.
DBLP Computer Science Bibliography
Provides citations to articles in major computer science journals and conference proceedings and in some cases links to full-text versions of articles (look for the words "Electronic Editions.") Search by author or keyword, or browse by journal, conference proceeding, or broad subject area.
Collection of Computer Science Bibliographies
Includes more than 2 million references to journal articles, conference papers and technical reports on computer science. Includes some links to online papers, and citing or cited references for some papers.
Finding Dissertations and Theses
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
Searches almost 4 million dissertations and theses from around the world. To focus your search, try the "advanced search tips" and use the facets on the left when viewing your search results.
Allows searches of the contents of institutional repositories which may contain dissertations that are not available through the Digital Dissertations database. Repositories contents are not limited to dissertations; to limit your search add "dissertation" or "thesis" to your keywords in the search box.
Part of HAL
, this database is a multidisciplinary collection of self-submitted theses and dissertations.
Engineering & Physical Sciences Librarian
ACM Guide to Computing Literature by
Call Number: Eng/Math/CS Library QA76 .A8
Index to books, papers, reports, articles in major journals of computing and related fields, conferences and symposia.
Available online from 1985 to present at the ACM website.
Available only in print from 1977 to 1984.