It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI), a unit of the Office of Science, fulfills agency-wide responsibilities to collect, preserve, and disseminate both unclassified and classified scientific and technical information (STI) emanating from DOE-funded research and development (R&D) activities at DOE national laboratories and facilities and at universities and other institutions nationwide. OSTI provides access to DOE STI through a suite of web-based, searchable discovery tools and through other commonly used search engines, offering ever-expanding sources of R&D information to DOE, the research community, and the science-attentive public.
Bibliographical Database for Astronomical References -- major index for all areas of astronomy and astrophysics, covering the international research literature. Includes biographical and historical references to the field. Types of sources indexed include journals, proceedings, books and reports. Refers to abstracts published in its printed counterparts, Astronomy and Astrophysics Abstracts, 1969-2000, Astronomischer Jahresbericht, 1899-1968, and earlier bibliographies (see UNH Library Catalog f
This abstract database, produced by ISI, permits citation searching and general reference searching of the world's most cited research journals, from 1977-present. The Science section is also known as Science Citation Index or SciSearch and covers nearly 6,000 journals. UNH only.
Science.gov searches over 42 databases and over 2000 selected websites from 14 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results. Science.gov is governed by the interagency Science.gov Alliance
Includes citations for dissertations ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester; those published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Titles represent authors from North America and Europe, with over a million titles in full text.
For over 25 years we have been tracking the growth and developments in astronomy in this dictionary. For this new edition, the fifth in the book's life, we have completely reviewed and updated all the existing entries, from A0620-00 to XUV astronomy, and have added around 200 entries to reflect recent advances in astronomy and related fields. The book will provide a valuable resource both to those studying astronomy at school or university and to the many enthusiastic amateur astronomers.
Ebscohost Web is a great database for those just beginning their lower-level research in astronomy. If you use the right filters, along with the proper keywords, then your results should reflect not only the subject your researching, but a reading-level that doesn't require a PhD.
Select Secondary Print Sources
The following items can all be found in the Physics Library. Please click on each title to see catalog information.
The Encyclopedia of Astronomy and Astrophysics is the most comprehensive source of information on these intriguing subjects ever assembled. Co-published by Grove's Dictionaries in association with the Nature Publishing Group, and the Institute of Physics Publishing, the Encyclopedia offers more than 2.5 million words, 2,750 original articles, commissioned specifically for this Encyclopedia. Presenting a wealth of scholarship, research, discovery, and theory, the Encyclopedia is essential for everyone who is fascinated by our universe.