Reference Sources - SW 850/851/952 - Human Behavior & Social Environment (UNH Durham)

For More Help

Ask a Librarian

Visit, email, chat, or schedule a consultation appointment with a subject librarian

Why Use?

Good places to gather background information on a topic or get ideas when choosing a topic.

Background information:

definitions
specific factual information such as dates
overviews or summaries of topics
recommendations for additional sources

Types of reference sources:

specialized encyclopedias
dictionaries
directories
statistical compilations
handbooks
bibliographies

Selected Print Reference Sources

Handbook of Psychology
Call Number: Dimond Ref BF 121 .H1955 2003
ISBN: 0471176699
7 volumes that include Developmental Psychology (v. 6) and Personality and Social Psychology (v. 5). Has extensive entries with substantial lists of references.

These are located on Dimond Main Level and represent just a sampling. For more reference resources, search the library catalog or contact the Research Center desk.

Handbook of Child Psychology
Call Number: Dimond Reference BF 721 .H242 1998
ISBN: 0471178934
Handbook of Developmental Psychology
Call Number: Dimond Level 4 BF 713 .H364 2003
ISBN: 076196231X
Now located in the circulating collection
Encyclopedia of Social Work
Call Number: Dimond Reference HV 12 .E5
ISBN: 0195306619
4-volume set; latest edition is in Reference
The Social Work Dictionary
Call Number: Dimond Reference HV 12 .B37 2003
ISBN: 087101355X
Research for Social Workers: An Introduction to Methods
Call Number: Dimond Reference HV 11 .A47 2003
ISBN: 0415307228
2nd ed,

Selected Online Reference Sources

DSM-5
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders. Published 2013, this is the most recent classification of mental disorders with associated criteria designed to facilitate more reliable diagnoses of these disorders. Print copy also available at Research Center in Dimond.
DSM (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders) - Prrevious Editions
In PDF format. Print copy of DSM-IV-TR (2000) is available at the Research Center desk in Dimond. Search library catalog for other editions and books related to DSM.
Elsevier's Dictionary of Psychological Theories
The dictionary contains terms covering the origination, development, and evolution of various psychological concepts, as well as the historical definition, analysis, and criticisms of psychological concepts.
Psychologists And Their Theories For Students
Coverage of major psychological theories and the people who developed them. An introductory essay, providing an overview of the various schools of psychological thought, is followed by detailed entries explaining each individual theory in practical terms and exploring the historical impact of each. Entries conclude with a bibliography and further reading list.
Key Thinkers in Psychology
Designed to help the reader understand the classic scholars, the classic studies, and the subsequent generations of people and ideas that have come to define the broad discipline that is 'psychology'.
Encyclopedia of Human Behavior
Three-volume reference source covers topics in physiological psychology, perception, personality, abnormal and clinical psychology, cognition and learning, social psychology, developmental psychology, and applied contexts.
Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development
Using an interdisciplinary approach, covers all aspects of child development from prenatal development to education, neuroscience, and theories to physical development, social development, cognitive development, and parenting. It also looks at cultural issues and sex differences.
Handbook of Aging and the Social Sciences
A comprehensive summary and evaluation of recent research on the social aspects of aging: Aging and Time, Aging and Social Structure, Social Factors and Social Institutions, and Aging and Society.
The Cambridge Handbook of Age and Ageing
Guide to the current body of knowledge, theory, policy and practice relevant to age researchers and gerontologists with a broad focus on the behavioral and social sciences but also including the biological and medical sciences.

SW 850/851/952 - Human Behavior & Social Environment (UNH Durham): Reference Sources

For More Help

Why Use?

Selected Print Reference Sources

Selected Online Reference Sources