It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Environmental Engineering (UNH - Durham): Data & Standards
A quick guide to environmental engineering information available through the UNH Library.
Specialized reference resources for Environmental Engineering provide authoritative information on processes, properties, data, and instrumentation. At UNH, these may be in print or online. Types of reference resources include:
dictionaries for technical definitions
encyclopedias for processes & technical information
handbooks for technical information and data
atlases and maps
manufacturers’ specifications (not available at the library)
standards for accepted criteria or methods for materials, processes, and products
Resources listed on this page are divided among online and print access.
A college-level encyclopedia devoted to science and engineering. Articles range from general to semi-technical and include bibliographies and links to related articles.
Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook, 7th ed.
Available electronically via UNH IT cluster computers (including cluster laptops at the libraries). The CD-ROM is also available for borrowing (Engineering, Math & CS Library, At Desk collection, TP151 .P45 1999.
ASTM's digital library: UNH access includes the current, historical, and red-lined ASTM standards, plus ASTM books and journals online. ASTM International publishes over 12,500 standards each year and reviews each standard at least every five years. The Annual Book of Standards for 2012 is also held in print.
You can search by standard number or keyword (Example: C1329 or "mortar cement")
Essential reference for chemical engineering, explaining concepts and processes with technical details. Index in last volume. Previous editions covering older technologies are also available at UNH Library (see catalog).
Covers environmental engineering, including air, water, and waste management; project management, environmental assessment, and information about legislation (info on regulations may not be current; note year of publication).
Covers basic principles of air and water pollution, measurement, and treatment, qualitatively and stoichiometrically, including process selection. The bulk of the book offers specific processes for the production of specific commodities with special attention to waste.
Chapters written by experts in their fields cover health risk assessment; current and more advanced air quality monitoring; selection criteria for industrial air pollution and air technology; thermal methods for waste treatment; advanced wastewater treatment technology.