Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Bibliographic Management Software
As a UNH faculty, staff, or student you can create a free RefWorks account. RefWorks allows you to import citation information directly from many of the databases available through UNH and arrange your sources in folders. RefWorks uses this citation information to generate and format bibliographies and in-text citations according to the style of your choosing. The RefWorks tutorials are broken down by subject and extremely helpful and easy to follow.
Zotero is a free, open source bibliographic management tool that operates as an extension of the Firefox browser. Zotero allows the collection of citations to any kind of material and automatically formats bibliographies in almost any style. Zotero also has many search, tagging, and note taking features. Visit the Zotero quick start guide to learn more.
EndNote is another option, offered through the Web of Science database. It enables users to collect, organize, and format citations the Web of Science database and other ISI products and to input citations to any other outside matrials. To register, go into the Web of Science database and click on "My EndNote Web" at the top of the screen. Endnote accounts can be accessed from any computer at the institution or off-campus through Blackboard or VPN.
For technical reports and government reports and information, please see "Technical & Government Reports" tab.
The goal of a literature review is to find all the relevant
publications on a topic and to then summarize and synthesize that
information. A literature review can help you find areas where further
research is needed, narrow a research topic, or determine if a thesis
question is unique. Talk to your advisor for help defining your
research question. For help with library resources, talk to your
librarian; they can help you find a combination of resources that will
result in a comprehensive search.
About searching for articles
- Article search: To search for articles, try the selected bibliographic databases under the "Find Articles" tab. For interdisciplinary topics, be sure to check related databases.
- Saving results: You may save your database search results in several formats for future use. Options depend on the database. See sidebar for some ways to manage your citations.
- Get help: To schedule a research consultation on your search, contact the Engineering & Physical Sciences Librarian. Or, for quick search help, please contact the Engineering, Math & Computer Science Library at 862-1740 or stop by during business hours.
- Peer reviewed sources: In judging which material to use, consider whether a journal is peer-reviewed (also known as refereed). Peer review, or refereeing, is a process by which articles are critically evaluated prior to publication. To find out whether a journal is peer-reviewed/refereed, you can check its status in Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory (below). Some conference proceedings are also peer reviewed. A person who is familiar with major conferences in your field, such as your advisor, is a good resource to find out whether a particular conference is peer reviewed. Examining the "Information for Authors" section on a journal or conference proceedings website can also help. However, you may also need to use materials, such as government reports, that have not been subjected to peer review.
Ulrichsweb: Global Serials Directory
Lists journals from around the world. Searchable by broad subject areas, journal title, ISSN, etc. Can limit search results by peer review, language, and other criteria. (UNH only)
Web of Science
Indexes and links to over 10,000 major journals in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Also provides cited reference searching. Science citations date from 1900-present. (UNH only)
Citing your sources
When to cite: Cite your sources when you: quote, paraphrase, use their ideas, or use their images. When in doubt, cite!
How to cite: Use the style guide recommended by your instructor. If there is no recommendation, the Library has many books on communication and writing for engineers and others in technical professions.
Here are a few selected ones:
A Guide to Writing as an Engineer
This well-known guide by David Beer & David McMurrey offers friendly help on everything from writing a letter of transmittal to formatting a reference list. It's on reserve at Engr/Math/CS Library, with older editions in the regular collection there.
The MIT Guide to Science and Engineering Communication
This guide, by James G. Paradis and Muriel L. Zimmerman, is more detailed than Beer & McMurrey. It's on reserve at Engr/Math/CS Library; ask for it at the service desk.
The Craft of Scientific Presentations
Might as well include this useful tome by Michael Alley. The UNH Library has this both online and in print.
Engineering & Physical Sciences Librarian
Dissertations are not considered peer-reviewed, but they can be valuable sources of information.
Freely searchable institutional repositories that may offer dissertations not currently available through Digital Dissertations. Repositories contents are not limited to dissertations; to limit your search add "dissertation" or "thesis" to your keywords in the search box.
Part of HAL
, this database is a multidisciplinary collection of self-submitted theses and dissertations.
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
Full text collection of over 800,000 dissertations from many disciplines. Users have a choice between two search interfaces. For more advanced options, choose the Scirus search.