Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Technical Reports & Government Information
Allows searches across many U.S. government databases and websites. Content is not limited to technical reports. Often full text of reports is available.
Technical reports describe technical or scientific research and often contain in depth details of or data from an experiment or project. Unlike the journal literature they are rarely peer reviewed and are often not published outside of the organization that produced them. Reports may be produced for a corporate sponsor or employer or as the result of a government-funded investigation. Reports, like dissertations, are considered "gray literature": that is, produced outside of formal publication channels. They can be hard to track down; please feel free to contact the Engineering & Physical Sciences Librarian or library staff if you need a report and can't find it.
NEPIS: National Environmental Publications Internet Site
The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) website for online fulltext or hardcopy documents. ranging from from brochures to technical reports. Choose from simple, advanced, or field search. Note: if you are only interested in online fulltext, be sure to choose that, or un-check the "Hardcopy Publications" box.
National Technical Information Service (NTIS)
Citations to reports on foreign and domestic research (includes many translations). UNH does not have fulltext access to these reports. If you need materials found in the NTIS database, please check the BLC Library Catalog to see if they can be borrowed through InterLibrary Loan or talk to your librarian.
DOE Information Bridge
A resource for full-text and bibliographic records of U. S. Department of Energy (DOE) research reports in physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental sciences, energy technologies, engineering, computer and information science, renewable energy, and more. Links to EnergyFiles, the Virtual Library of Energy Science and Technology.
DOE Data Explorer
A unique tool that identifies collections of Department of Energy-sponsored numeric files, figures and data plots, multimedia and images,computer simulations, specialized databases, and interactive data maps. Links to customized interfaces developed by data owners and to software toolkits that allow you to manipulate, compare, visualize, download, and re-use the data. Data is hosted at various program sites. Free.
Virtual Technical Reports Center
Links to hundreds of university, government, and project websites containing technical reports and other resources.
The comprehensive guide to publications on transportation research. Produced by the Transportation Research Board (TRB) and the OECD Joint Transport Research Centre, TRID includes over 1 million records for conference and journal articles, books, technical reports, and current projects, including topics such as pavements, safety, alternative fuels, and more. Tip: When looking at an article's record, follow the link under "Availability" to see if the journal or other type of source is at UNH.
Writing a report?
If you are looking for info on writing a report or citing sources (creating a bibliography), see the Find Articles tab!