Research Guides: Alerts and Related Current Awareness Services: Guide To Guides: Home

Selected Library Guides

This guide to guides lists selected guides developed by librarians at other institutions on various types of alerts provided by database and journal publishers. Where these guides link to specific databases, please use the UNH Databases listings to connect to the database through the correct authentication path.

Alert Services: A How-To Guide
From the Iowa State University Library. Covers basic techniques for setting up different types of alerts including table of contents and saved searches via email, RSS feed, blogs, and Twitter.
Alerts and Current Awareness Services
From Vancouver Island University

Alert Services: A How-To Guide

Covers basic techniques for setting up different types of alerts (a.k.a. current awareness services) - including table of contents and saved searches via email, RSS feed, blogs, and Twitter.

By Lorrie Pellack at Iowa State University | Last update: Jul 29, 2020

Tags: alerts, blogs, current_awareness, e-journals, how-to, rss, table_of_contents, twitter

Alerts and Current Awareness Services

Alerts are offered by journal publishers and other databases to help you keep up with recent publications related your research interests.

By Dana McFarland at Vancouver Island University Library | Last update: Aug 6, 2020

Tags: alerts, databases, journal_articles, rss

Alerting Services

This Guide covers Saved Search, TOC and Citation Alerts for selected databases (based on those available at the Library of the University of Newcastle, Australia).

By University of Newcastle librarians | Last update: Jul 13, 2020

Tags: alerts, citation_alerts

Keep Current

Summary of current awareness services, such as Table of Contents Alerts, Search Alerts, and Cited Reference Alerts

By Kate Zoellner at University of Montana-Missoula | Last update: Sep 1, 2020

Tags: alerts, keeping_up, rss

Creating Search Alerts

Learn all about search alerts, table of contents alerts, and citation alerts for all of your research needs (video shows how for Ebsco, Google Scholar, and Proquest databases).

By Library Help at University of Utah | Last update: Nov 11, 2019

Note: at UNH, you can use Web of Science for citation alerts rather than Scopus as is shown in this guide.

Alert Services

Alert Services or Current Awareness Services alert researchers when a new article or journal on a particular topic is published.

By Frank Lester at Vanderbilt University | Last update: Jun 23rd, 2011

| Tags: alert_services

Keeping Alert - Tracking New Articles and Books in your field

A guide to using emailed alerts, table of contents services, and RSS feeds to keep up with what's being written in your area of interest.

EBSCO Database Alerts

By Hailey Mooney at University of Michigan | Updated

Keeping Up @ Pitt: Database Alerts, Book Alerts, & RSS Feeds

(search within this guide)

A guide to alert services designed to save you time and make the research process easier.

These pages in the Keeping Up @ Pitt: Database Alerts, Book Alerts, & RSS Feeds guide contain your search term:

Databases with Alerts

By Robin Kear at University of Pittsburgh | Last update: Mar 29th, 2011 | Tags: academic_tools, collaboration, research, rss

Alerts & Feeds

(search within this guide)

Instructions for setting up database search alerts and RSS feeds.

These pages in the Alerts & Feeds guide contain your search term:

Setting up a Database Alert

By Lee Adams at Golden Gate University | Last update: Jul 15th, 2011

Search Alerts and RSS

(search within this guide)

Interested in keeping current with a minimum amount of effort? This guide gives an overview of using RSS, search alerts, and saved searches to subscribe to information for research or pleasure.

These pages in the Search Alerts and RSS guide contain your search term: