Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Technical Reports & Government Information
For your ENE 520 project, this type of information is for discovery as most is not peer-reviewed. Government websites come in all flavors. Some are meant for kids, some are for everyone, and some are highly technical. The websites can be good sources of environmental information. Be aware that the information presented may be carefully edited but was published by a government, not in a scholarly journal. However, the bibliographies are useful, and you can follow up on interesting reports by searching article databases to see if the authors have published similar research in peer-reviewed scholarly journal articles.
NEPIS: National Environmental Publications Internet Site
The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) website for online fulltext or hardcopy documents. ranging from from brochures to technical reports. Choose from simple, advanced, or field search. Note: if you are only interested in online fulltext, be sure to choose that, or un-check the "Hardcopy Publications" box.
DOE Data Explorer
A unique tool that identifies collections of Department of Energy-sponsored numeric files, figures and data plots, multimedia and images,computer simulations, specialized databases, and interactive data maps. Links to customized interfaces developed by data owners and to software toolkits that allow you to manipulate, compare, visualize, download, and re-use the data. Data is hosted at various program sites. Free.
Science, technology, and engineering research information from the U.S. Department of Energy, including coverage of technical reports, bibliographic citations, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia and data information.
Allows searches across many U.S. government databases and websites. Content is not limited to technical reports. Often full text of reports is available.
USA.gov is the official gateway to all U.S. government information. Use the search engine and limit your search to only government websites. Also offers an extensive directory that allows you to browse by subject or agency.
Virtual Technical Reports Center
Links to hundreds of university, government, and project websites containing technical reports and other resources.
Writing a report?
If you are looking for info on writing a report or citing sources (creating a bibliography), see the Find Articles tab!