Evaluation & Funding Sources - RMP/SW 924 - Philanthropy, Grants and Fund Development Resources (UNH Durham)

Evaluating Charities and Foundations

Charity Ratings
CharityWatch rating of about 600 national charities are based on what percentage of the budget goes to programs and not fundraising and expenses. Not all information is freely available online
Charity Navigator
An independent charity evaluator whose mission is to advance a more efficient and responsive philanthropic marketplace by evaluating the financial health of over 8,000 of America's largest charities. Expanded features available with free registration.
Charity Choices
This website sorts over 300 charities by the subject area they raise funds for, and also by foreign or domestic focus of activities. All charities have met the federal government's 10 accountability standards.
Foundation Center
Click Find Funders to look for online 990 forms. See Foundation Directory Online Professional version for more.
GuideStar National Database of Nonprofit Organizations
Requires free registration. Provides financial information on over 1.8 million nonprofits and information about nonprofits' programs.
NASCO Charity Offices
A list of state offices that regulate charitable organizations and charitable solicitations
GiveWell
Works to evaluate charities not only by financial standards but also by determining how much good a given program accomplishes per dollar spent, focusing on a relatively small number of charities "to identify, and thoroughly investigate, the best."

For More Help

Ask a Librarian

Visit, email, call, or make an appointment with a librarian.

Web Resources on Philanthropy

The Foundation Center
Click on Get Started and Gain Knowledge links for a wide range of useful information sources and services.

The UNH Library subscribes to the Professional version of The Foundation Directory Online for more in-depth information and additional search options.

The first five sources serve as a good starting point for information.

Catalog of Nonprofit Literature
Contains citations for articles, books, videos, etc. on topics including philanthropy, foundations, the nonprofit sector, voluntarism, government policies and funding, as well as theory and philosophy.

Entries in Catalog of Nonprofit Literature represent the literature on philanthropy, the foundation world, the nonprofit sector — particularly works on such topics as fundraising and proposal development — and works related to charitable giving, including project reports, studies, and statistical analyses. They cover works on theory, philosophy, and workings of domestic and international philanthropy as well as histories of individual foundations. Literature on all aspects of company-sponsored foundations and corporate giving is included, as are materials related to the nonprofit sector, its composition, administration, and management. Included are publications that discuss the impact of government policies and funding upon the sector and the legal and tax implications of local, state, and federal regulation and legislation. Voluntarism and revenue generating activities of nonprofits are also covered. On a selective basis, materials issued by foundations or resulting from studies or projects funded by foundations may also be included.
Philanthropic Studies Index (PSI)
Most citations are from academic journals, dated 1940 to the present. Since 2003, dissertations, working papers, and other sources were being added. Database developed by IUPUI, the Indiana University / Purdue University at Indianapolis.

USA.gov for Nonprofits
Includes links to federal grants and funding web sites such as the Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance, tax information, and publications focused on management and operations.
Additional Web Resources and Organizations:
Aspen Institute Program on Philanthropy and Social Innovation (PSI)
Provides leadership development initiatives, global events and seminars, and publications so that grant making foundations, nonprofit organizations, social enterprises, and public-private partnerships can better advance the ideals and ideas that define a good society at home and abroad. The website features relevant articles, videos, links, a blog, and publications.
Chronicle of Philanthropy
One of the best known publications on the philanthropy (giving) and fund raising aspect of foundations and nonprofits. The web site provides up-to-date news, articles, job information, and statistics.
Council on Foundations
A nonprofit membership organization of more than 2,100 grant-making foundations and corporations that supports grant makers in various aspects of foundation management. It does not provide services to those seeking grants, but does provide online news and resources.
Giving USA Foundation
Publisher of extensive data and trends on charitable giving (sources and uses).
Idealist
A nonprofit organization and global clearinghouse of nonprofit and volunteering resources offering a directory of thousands of volunteer, internship, and job opportunities; links to more than 91,000 nonprofit organizations worldwide, and many other resources.
National Council of Nonprofits
Works to "identify emerging trends, share proven practices, and promote solutions that benefit charitable nonprofits and the communities they serve." Offers information on public policy, nonprofit advocacy, and capacity building.
Nonprofit Literature Blog
This blog from the Foundation Center provides links and resources, and discusses books, pamphlets, and articles relating to philanthropy, giving, grantwriting, and nonprofit issues.
Association for Research on Nonprofit Organizations and Voluntary Action (ARNOVA)
A forum committed to strengthening research in the field of nonprofit and philanthropic studies. Primary activities include an annual conference, publications, electronic discussions, and special interest groups.
Center on Nonprofits and Philanthropy (CNP)
Part of the Urban Institute, it conducts and disseminates research on the role and impact of nonprofit organizations and philanthropy.
Center for Effective Philanthropy (CEP)
A nonprofit organization dedicated to providing data to assist philanthropic funders.
Independent Sector
A leadership forum for charities, foundations, and corporate giving programs. They are dedicated to advancing the common good in the United States and around the world.
The International Center for Not-for-Profit Law - Research Center
The Online Library is "a directory of key research materials, including domestic and international laws, reports, treaties, and court decisions that affect civil society." Twelve "Resources by Theme" sections cover topics such as aid effectiveness, volunteerism, and digital freedom.

RMP/SW 924 - Philanthropy, Grants and Fund Development Resources (UNH Durham): Evaluation & Funding Sources

Evaluating Charities and Foundations

For More Help

Web Resources on Philanthropy