Research Guides: BUS 750/760-Business Internship Seminar/Applied Senior Project (UNH Manchester): Reference

Books and Ebooks

Global Business Etiquette by Jeanette S. Martin; Lillian H. Chaney
Call Number: HF5389 .M375 2012
ISBN: 9780313397172
Publication Date: 2012-02-22
This book provides the invaluable intercultural knowledge to help you make a deal, sell your product, or find a joint venture, no matter where your business takes you.
Kiss, Bow, or Shake Hands - Sales and Marketing by Terri Morrison; Wayne A. Conaway
Call Number: HF5389 .M674 2012
ISBN: 9780071714044
Publication Date: 2011-11-15
How do you break the ice in the UAE? When do you present a contract in China? How close should you stand to a South Korean? Kiss, Bow, or Shake Hands: Sales and Marketing is an informative, entertaining guide that shows you what to do--and what to avoid--in any given sales or marketing situation, from Argentina to South Africa. It provides the expert knowledge you need to gather data in diverse cultures, properly present your products, and close deals around the world.
The World's Business Cultures by Barry Tomalin
ISBN: 9781854187772
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
With the aid of the specially developed 5 COCOs model, expert authors demonstrate how to get your communications right internationally and ensure that meetings, both face-to-face and virtual, go according to plan. Barry Tomalin and Mike Nicks offer strategies and tactics for getting people from different countries on your side, detailing the knowledge you need to make the right impression and to avoid causing offence.

Online Business Reference Sources

Business Cycle Indicators This link opens in a new window
The Conference Board publishes leading, coincident, and lagging indexes designed to signal peaks and troughs in the business cycle for ten countries around the world.
Conference Board Research Collection This link opens in a new window
UNH's annual membership includes access to the Higher Education subscription to the Conference Board's Business and Economics Portfolio for faculty and students. Provides access to key economic indicators historical data.
Mergent First Research This link opens in a new window
Provides industry profiles covering thousands of industry segments, containing critical analysis, statistics, and forecasts.

Global Competitiveness
Offers a structured, systematic and comprehensive approach to identifying and measuring the drivers of economic performance of more than 140 economies.

International Directory of Company Histories This link opens in a new window
Contains detailed information on influential and emerging companies worldwide including: comprehensive background and history of a company, merger and acquisition activity over time, impact of particular sales and marketing campaigns, and the effectiveness of executive leadership.
International Financial Statistics Online This link opens in a new window
A standard source of international statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance.

Nexis Uni
Formerly Lexis-Nexis Academic. Full-text database of news, business, legal and government information. News resources include international and national newspapers, magazines, trade journals, and broadcast media transcripts.

Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
The background information provided enables researchers to understand the principles underlying the methods; other helpful sections include comparisons of alternative methods giving the advantages and disadvantages of particular methods, guidance on avoiding potential pitfalls, and suggestions for troubleshooting.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
An integration of various databases containing company information and documents. Moody's Industrial Manual and the EDGAR filings are included in this database along with Company Data Direct, both US and international. Mergent Online can create spreadsheet-ready financial formats and is updated continuously.
Mergent Archives This link opens in a new window
Indexed collection of more than a centurys worth of global corporate and industry related documents. It contains hundreds of thousands of reports covering hundreds of countries and industries.
Reference Solutions This link opens in a new window
Formerly ReferenceUSA; a reference and research database providing accurate data for businesses and consumers.
Standard & Poor's Net Advantage: Capital IQ This link opens in a new window
Industry Surveys provides in-depth financial and business analysis of 52 major U.S. industries, including information about recent developments with forecasts of industry conditions and emerging trends. Users can view tables, charts, and graphs of key industry conditions and statistics along with textual analysis and commentary. Historical data is archived for 3 years
Statista: The Statistics Portal This link opens in a new window
Tool for researching quantitative data, statistics and related information.
Thomasnet This link opens in a new window
Is a comprehensive online resource for finding companies and products manufactured in North America. Users can search by product, company, or brand name through product headings and company listings.
World Development Indicators Data Catalog This link opens in a new window
World Development Indicators (WDI) is the primary World Bank database for development data from officially-recognized international sources for more than 180 countries. Other databases provide information on external debt and financial flow data, governance issues, education, health, gender, and more.