Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Master of Social Work Program (UNH Durham): Citing & Writing

Identifies core and class-related resources for online and campus-based MSW programs. Provides information on research methods and resources, obtaining library materials, getting help, and more.

For More Help

Chat, email, or schedule a consultation with a subject librarian!

 Ask A Librarian

About APA

The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association sets the standard for the format of scholarly publications. APA style (as it is known) is used by researchers and graduate students, particularly in the social sciences.

Citations using APA style allow readers to locate the materials used in your research. Therefore, your citations should be as accurate and complete as possible.

For examples of how to cite various sources, look at some of the sites listed in the Online & Print Resources box on this page.

DOI Information

What a DOI looks like: 10.2522/ptj.20090278

DOI defined: According to CrossRef (2002), a DOI (digital object identifier) is a "unique alphanumeric string assigned to a digital object, such as an electronic journal, article, report, or thesis. Each DOI name is unique and serves as a stable, persistent link to the full-text of an electronic item on the Internet. Unlike a URL, a DOI name doesn't change over time; even if the item moves to a new location, the DOI name stays the same" (1).

Using a DOI in your bibliography: The 6th Edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association recommends that the DOI should be included in the bibliography for print and electronic souces when available. The DOI should be included using the format doi:xxxxxx in the bibliography. When a DOI is not available for electronic journal articles, include the persistent URL.

APA Citation Resources

Databases and Citation Styles

The Library's main search interface can provide citation to sources on the fly.

Some library databases, such as those from EBSCO and ProQuest, allow you to get bibliographic information in selected citation styles, such as APA or MLA, when emailing and saving records. 

You can also Export citations from many databases into Zotero or other citation management programs. 

Citing Journal Articles in APA Format Video (2:58)

How to Avoid Plagiarism

Above are documents that provide some tips on avoiding plagiarism. 

More APA Citation Help