Art Images

The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science.

American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.

The online collection represents a small sampling of the approximately 20,000 postcards available in the National Trust for Historic Preservation Library Collection. The majority of the images originate from 3,185 identified locations and date from the period 1900-1920.

Covers American Art from the Colonial Period to today. More than 7,000 artists are represented in the collection, including major masters, such as John Singleton Copley, Gilbert Stuart, Winslow Homer, John Singer Sargent, Childe Hassam, Mary Cassatt, Georgia O’Keeffe, Edward Hopper, Jacob Lawrence, Helen Frankenthaler, Christo, David Hockney, Jenny Holzer, Lee Friedlander, Roy Lichtenstein, Nam June Paik, Martin Puryear, and Robert Rauschenberg.

A survey of over 100,000 American portraits in public and private collections across the United States and abroad. National Portrait Gallery collections are included in this portrait database, as well as portraits relating to NPG exhibitions. The CAP encompasses portraits of American subjects or by American artists, generally limited to one-of-a-kind likenesses such as paintings, sculpture, drawings, miniatures, silhouettes, and daguerreotypes.

This database features one of the finest collections of American art, offering a chronological survey of American art from the Colonial period to the 21st century. The collection allows searching, but is better set up for general browsing.

The Hagley Digital Archives provides online access to selected items from the Hagley Museum and Library's collection of images, documents, and publications related to the history of business, technology, and society.

The Picture Collection Online presents more than 30,000 digitized images from books, magazines and newspapers as well as original photographs, prints and postcards, mostly created before 1923. Covering over 12,000 subjects, the Picture Collection is an extensive circulating collection and reference archive, the largest of its kind in any public library system.

The Whitney's collection online provides unprecedented access to over 21,000 works by more than 3,000 artists. These works in all mediums—painting, sculpture, drawing, printmaking, photography, film, video, installation, and new media—serve as a remarkable resource for understanding art history and the creative process of artists in the United States from 1900 to today.

The Reynolda House collections include fine art, estate archives, and decorative arts and historic house objects.

Collection of American Art including Illustrated books, Paintings, Photographs, Remington and Russel, Sculpture and Works on paper.

This University of Pittsburh website presents the omplete double elephant folio set of Audubon’s Birds of America, accompanied by his Ornithological Biography.

The Mountain West Digital Library is a central search portal for digital collections about the Mountain West region. We provide free access to over 690,000 resources from universities, colleges, public libraries, museums, historical societies, and government agencies, counties, and municipalities in Utah, Nevada, and other parts of the U.S. West.

Online access to a portion of the museum's object and historic photo collections.

View the digital image collections of the Plains Indian Museum, Whitney Gallery of Western Art, and Cody Firearms Museum.