Art Images

Almost 60 years ago, collector and horticulturist Henry Francis du Pont (1880–1969) opened his childhood home, Winterthur, to the public. Today, Winterthur (pronounced “winter-tour”) is the premier museum of American decorative arts, with an unparalleled collection of nearly 90,000 objects made or used in America between about 1640 and 1860. The collection is displayed in the magnificent 175-room house, much as it was when the du Pont family lived here, as well as in permanent and changing exhibition galleries.

An open-access online compendium containing thousands of unique images, documents, and media, the ACC Library Digital Collections detail the history of contemporary craft in America. From ACC newsletters and photographs to firsthand documentation of major national craft exhibitions, the digital collections offer makers, scholars, and craft appreciators a glimpse at some of the ACC Library’s most invaluable resources.

The Victoria and Albert Museum, London, is the world's leading museum of art and design. Search the Collections is a working database providing online access to over 1.1 million catalogue records and over 293,000 images of objects in our collection.

The Crafts Council continues to acquire work annually and currently has over 1400 objects spanning all the main media including: ceramics, glass, metal, jewellery, furniture, textiles, wood, baskets, automata, calligraphy, lettering and bookbinding.

The ceramic collection is one of the major collections of studio ceramics in Britain and is particularly noted for its studio pottery of the period 1920-1940. The collection has fine examples of pottery by Bernard Leach, Michael Cardew, Katharine Pleydell-Bouverie, Norah Braden, Charles and Nell Vyse, William Staite Murray and Reginald Wells.

AccessCeramics is a growing collection of contemporary ceramics images by recognized artists enhancing ceramics education worldwide.

The Corning Museum of Glass cares for and displays the world’s best collection of art and historical glass.

The Fabric Workshop and Museum is the only museum of its kind in the world, and the permanent collections document its unique history of artistic activity with contemporary artists. Numbering over 5,600 objects, the collections trace many major movements in the field since 1977.