Research Guides: Art Images: General Image Resources

Very General/Stock Images

Wikimedia Commons
more...less...
An online repository of free-use images, sound and other media files.
Getty Images
more...less...
Getty Images has over 80 million rights managed photos, primarily for advertising, media and corporate clients.
Getty Images - Lean In collection
more...less...
The Lean In Collection, a library of images devoted to the powerful depiction of women, girls and the people who support them. Jointly curated by Getty Images and LeanIn.Org – the women’s empowerment nonprofit founded by Sheryl Sandberg – the collection features over 2,500 images of female leadership in contemporary work and life.
National Geographic - Image library
Associated Press Images
more...less...
AP Images provides instant access to AP's iconic editorial photos of today's breaking news, celebrity portraits by renowned Invision photographers, historical images across all genres, creative rights managed and royalty-free stock photography

General Image Resources

New York Public Library Collection
more...less...
The Picture Collection Online presents more than 30,000 digitized images from books, magazines and newspapers as well as original photographs, prints and postcards, mostly created before 1923. Covering over 12,000 subjects, the Picture Collection is an extensive circulating collection and reference archive, the largest of its kind in any public library system.
Google Art Project
more...less...
The Art Project is a collaboration between Google and hundreds of museums and diverse art institutions.
You can find artworks, landmarks and world heritage sites, as well as digital exhibitions that tell the stories behind the archives of cultural institutions across the globe.
Europeana
more...less...
Explore millions of items from a range of Europe's leading galleries, libraries, archives and museums. Books and manuscripts, photos and paintings, television and film, sculpture and crafts, diaries and maps, sheet music and recordings, etc.
WikiArt
more...less...
WikiPaintings is an encyclopedia of fine arts. The project aims to create high-quality, most complete and well-structured online repository of fine art.
World Digital Library
more...less...
The World Digital Library makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.
Flickr Collections
more...less...
The photograph-sharing website has a growing number of architectural and related images, including selected images from the Library of Congress, the National Archives, the George Eastman House, etc.
Luna Commons
Shared Shelf Commons
more...less...
Shared Shelf Commons is a free, open-access library of images, with many architecture slides that are not in the general ARTstor collection.
CLAROS
more...less...
Built on the art of ancient Greece and Rome, CLAROS is an international research collaboration, using the latest Information and Communication Technologies to enable simultaneous searching of major collections in university research institutes and museums.
George Eastman House
more...less...
A steadily growing of GEH's vast photographic holdings. Also check Flickr as they have been expanding to this venue.
Grove Art Online
more...less...
Oxford Art Online is the access point for Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, Oxford art reference resources, and Oxford art images.
Bildindex der Kunst und Architektur
more...less...
contains approximately 2 million images of European art and architecture contributed by about 80 partnering institutions.
World Images
more...less...
The internationally recognized WorldImages database provides access to the California State University IMAGE Project. It has just been selected by the Library of Congress for inclusion in its historic collection of Internet materials. It contains approximately 80,000 images, is global in coverage and includes all areas of visual imagery.
Bibloteca Nacional de Espana
more...less...
The National Library of Spain houses copies of every book published in Spain. In addition, there are valuable collections of incunabula, manuscripts, prints, drawings, photographs, sound recordings, sheet music, etc
VADS: The Visual Arts Data Service
A portfolio of visual art collections comprising over 140,000 images that are freely available and copyright cleared for use in learning, teaching and research in the UK.
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
The Metropolitan Museum of Art's Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History is funded by the Heilbrunn Foundation, New Tamarind Foundation, and Zodiac Fund. The Timeline of Art History presents the Met’s collection via a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of global art history. Targeted at students and scholars of art history, it is an invaluable reference, research, and teaching tool.

Subscription Images

Bridgeman Images
more...less...
Bridgeman Images works with museums, galleries, collections and artists to provide a central resource of fine art and archive footage for reproduction to creative professionals. Every subject, concept, style and medium is represented, from the masterpieces of national museums to the hidden treasures of private collections.
Scholars Resource
more...less...
Scholars Resource offers high quality digital images for teaching at educational institutions. We believe that when you license to own the images critical to your curriculum, you are secure in the knowledge that your program/courses will continue and grow, regardless of what might happen to budgets or subscriptions.