Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
You will also need to evaluate each article you find to determine if it is appropriate for you to use in your work. Use the following criteria to evaluate your articles.
- Intended Audience
See the Evaluating Articles Tab for more information.
Open Access Journals
The journals appearing on the linked list are freely accessible to any readers:
Recommended Key Databases
Archival collection of full-image, full-run academic journals, beginning with the journal's first issue and continuing to 2 to 5 years prior to the current year. Can limit search to categories: Architecture & Architectural History and Art & Art History, through te Advanced Search option
Recommended databases to start searching for journal, magazine or newspapers articles, book reviews, etc.
Index of articles from art periodicals published throughout the world. Source documents also include yearbooks, museum bulletins and reproductions of art works. Searchable through EBSCO.
Art Index Retrospective
A "searchable index covering more than 55 years of art journalism from over 420 notable publications." Publication date coverage: 1929 to 1984. Searchable through EBSCO.
Other Databases to Consider
Academic Search Ultimate
A "scholarly, multi-discipline, full text database designed specifically for academic institutions."
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
"Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life )."
Bibliography of the History of Art
Indexes and abstracts articles, art-related books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and art exhibition and dealer's catalogs. This extensive and comprehensive index covers European and American art from late antiquity to 2007.
International Medieval Bibliography
A comprehensive, current bibliography of articles in journals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften) worldwide, covering 1967 to the present.
Full text access to scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
How to search
Check for Full Text – When searching for articles in databases, you will often see this button in the list of results. The "Check for Full Text" feature points out how you can get a copy of the article.
This 2-minute video provides a brief demonstration.
Remember to use online search techniques to make your time in the databases more fruitful. Check out these searching tips.
More Info About Periodicals
See More About Periodicals to find out about:
- What a citation is
- What an index or database is
- Finding a specific periodical title at UNH
- Locating periodicals in Dimond