Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference Sources in the Dimond Library
Online Reference Sources
Oxford Art Online
Oxford Art Online is the access point for several Art reference resources that the UNH library subscribes to, including: Grove Art Online, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and the Oxford Companion to Western Art.
Bibliography of the History of Art
Indexes and abstracts articles, art-related books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and art exhibition and dealer's catalogs. This extensive and comprehensive index covers European and American art from late antiquity to the present.
A multimedia web book about art and art history.
An international architecture database incorporating information related to some 18,000 built and unbuilt projects, with greatest concentration related to 20th-century architecture.
Reference Ebooks available through UNH
For more information about how to use Ebooks, check out these ebook subject guides created by librarian Jennifer Carrol: EBSCOhost eBooks and ebrary eBooks.
When to Use
Use reference tools (like encyclopedias and dictionaries) to get background information about your research topic. In addition to electronic resources, the library collects print reference sources.
DICTIONARIES & THESAURI: Find definitions, translations, and equivalent terms to help you understand the vocabulary of your topic.
ENCYCLOPEDIAS: May be intersdisciplinary or subject specific. Short articles provide summaries about your topic. Articles often discuss key authors in the field, and provide lists of citations to important books and journal articles.